1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: can't get chipset driver to update. 990fxa

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Blittzin, Jan 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Blittzin

Blittzin Thread Starter

Hi and thanks to anyone kind enough to take time to help me. I have a gigabyte 990fxa-ud5 and I installed the chipset driver from the mobo cd it's realtek pcie gbe family controller. I've been trying to update it with the only chipset driver I can find for this board from the gigabyte website. It won't update and I've tried everything. Cpu z shows amd north and southbridge. I tried running the driver, going into device manager and it says realtek pcie etc..... is the best driver. I'm new to chipsets and embarrased to say I'm learning but really behind in builds and oc'ing. I'm used to nvidia chipsets. Download from nvidia untick firewall and install. I'm not even sure if the chipset drivers go with network adapter but my device manager shows no chipset or anything amd. I'm lost. The realtek driver is what installed from install cd as chipset driver. I've been looking around all day to fix this myself. It's embarassing to ask things that should be simple to fix. Thanks again.

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
  3. Blittzin

Blittzin Thread Starter