1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Cant get Safe Mode

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cruiser1000, Feb 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cruiser1000

    Cruiser1000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Hello
    Unable to start my netbook in safe mode. Packard Bell netbook, recently upgraded to Windows 8. However pressing F2 or F8 or F10 does not bring on 'Safe Mode'

    Want to use safe mode to uninstal Aviva A/V as it seems to slow computer.

    Any advice?

    John
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Another way is to bring up the Charms bar, go to "Settings" then to "Change PC Settings" then click on "General" and then "Advanced Startup"
     
  4. Cruiser1000

    Cruiser1000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
  6. Cruiser1000

    Cruiser1000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    No... will follow your advice and do that, but I have already used control panel to remove??

    Will that do, or will I need to re-install Aviva?

    Cheers

    John
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    should not need to re-install
    the original question was how to get into safemode and remove the program

    did you want to re-install ?
     
  8. Cruiser1000

    Cruiser1000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    NO... will leave it...

    Which lo-cost A/V would you recommend?.. I also found Norton slowed down PC!!

    Cheers

    John
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes - did you use the norton removal tool

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    I would use
    Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) I personally use and install in the computers that I work on.
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/security_essentials/default.aspx
    If you are using windows 8 - you already have this product and its now called windows defender (different to the earlier windows versions, also known as "windows defender")

    so if you still have windows defender on the PC- then you do not need an AV - you have one


    these Two programs are also recommended to be on the PC and can be on with any of the above antivirus programs.
    I do not allow to run at startup- so keeps resources low - and run them once a week - or after any heavy surfing , or if i think something is suspect

    Malwarebytes I personally use and install in the computers that I work on.
    http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

    superantispyware I personally use and install in the computers that I work on.
    http://www.superantispyware.com/download.html
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Windows 8 comes with a completely free antivirus program already, no need to buy anything: http://www.microsoft.com/security/pc-security/windows8.aspx

    Just make sure its turned on after removing all other antivirus software.
     
  11. DKTaber

    DKTaber

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,871
    If you're not keen on Windows Defender, you might try Avast, which is also free. I've used Avast (switched from Avira) for 5 years, and installed it on the dozen or so computers I support. Some malware has occasionally (rarely) gotten by it, but nothing serious and all easily removed either by scans by it or by Malwarebytes or SuperAntiSpyware. Just remember that NO AV or AS gives you 100% protection or 100% removal. . . which is why I use the three anti-malware programs I mentioned.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090299

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice