1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: cant hook up camera to pc

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by SouthParkXP101, Jul 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    my camera (pentax optio a10 8mp) says i should be able to hook it up to one of my pc's (compaq presairo win 98 media player 7.1 which are the minimum requirements
     
  2. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    What error do you get when you try?

    Are you really using Win 98 ... in which case you will need the drivers properly installed...

    Tell us what OS you are using...

    Why are you viewing in media player? Is this a digicam or a video cam?
     
  3. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    ok i am using win 98 but not on the computer i am writing to you im not sure what u mean by os um pentax says it should automaticly pop up when i insert the usb into the plug but it dosent im not sure what usb drivers i need im not sure where the media player comes in in all this but it just says that i need 7.1 or higher i would think to just use the camera and scanner wizzard
     
  4. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    OS = Operating System... ie... win 98SE.. XP... etc..

    If the computer you are trying to hookup to has 98 then you will need the drivers for the camera from the manufactures CD or web site

    Windows media player has nothing to do with anything that I can see...

    Think carefully and type slowly before your next post... ;)

    buck
     
  5. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    ok i know i have microsoft windows 98 plus SE 4.10.2222 A
    Amd-k6(tm) 3d prosser 120 mb of ram 32 bit

    wat did you mean by this ? Think carefully and type slowly before your next post...
     
  6. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    not to be rood just wondering
     
  7. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Probably that posting such a solid block of unformatted text, with no punctuation at all makes for difficult reading, so help will often be harder to find.

    Referring to your first posting.
     
  8. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    ok i understand i was in a hurry
     
  9. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Do you have the CD that came with the camera?
     
  10. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    yes it came with 3 main programs that are all installed on the pc
     
  11. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    the cd consists of...
    ACD for pc and mac

    ACD showtime

    ACD fotoslate


    also it says

    USB driver
    WIn 98/ 98se
     
  12. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    You only need the drivers to see the images... everythging else is crapware...
     
  13. Elf-stone

    Elf-stone

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    531
    According to the website, your camera should have a CD which has the USB drivers on it, along with other software.

    http://www.digital.pentax.co.jp/en/compact/optio-a10/feature.html

    If you don't have the disk for some reason, there's a download section on the page.
    Checking it though, I don't see the USB drivers for the A10 listed. Maybe you can get in touch with Pentax and they can help you find them.
     
  14. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    ?
     
  15. Elf-stone

    Elf-stone

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    531
    I was typing while you guys posted, nevermind.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485157

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice