1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't keep applications running

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Krivoirog, Jan 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Krivoirog

    Krivoirog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    It first started with any game I tried to play, the monitor just blinked off and an "signal out of range" notice popped up. No game works, not even one on Steam. Then when I was on the web, the mouse stopped working in one dimension, usually the vertical, and a few seconds later the monitor did its thing. Now, when working in MS WORD the monitor just blinks off.

    Monitor is a ViewSonic ViewPanel VG150B; eight years old so it has given me all I paid for and then some -- my suspicion is that the problem is the monitor but I am not sure.
    System specs:
    Operating System: Windows 2000 Professional (5.0, Build 2195) Service Pack 4
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    System Model: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    BIOS: BIOS Date: 09/08/05 12:57:54 Ver: 08.00.09
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+, ~2.0GHz
    Memory: 1022MB RAM
    Page File: 332MB used, 2125MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINNT
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.0001.0904 32bit Unicode

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Music Tab: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found.
    Network Tab: No problems found.

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: RADEON 9800 PRO
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: RADEON 9800 PRO AGP (0x4E48)

    Display Memory: 128.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Default Monitor
    Monitor Max Res:
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6599 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)

    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Creative Sound Blaster AudioPCI
    Driver Version: 5.12.0001.2047 (English)
    Driver Provider: Creative Technology Ltd.

    Don't know how much of that is necessary, but one can ignore the irrelevant.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks for your time,
    Krivoi Rog
    Child of Chaos
     
  2. darkwade

    darkwade

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    actually that is the way I would prefer people to post thats just the right amount of info to tell us about your system with out over doing it.

    there's a really good chance it is the screen, but I have also herd that the 9800 agp pro has some werd problems. so before you go spend $150 on a screen try it out on a friends monitor.
     
  3. IMiteBable2help

    IMiteBable2help

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,094
    Have you ruled out overheating issues inside your case?
     
  4. Krivoirog

    Krivoirog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    I have been running the Radeon for about three years with nary a glitch, but it was used and is old. Will hook up another fan I got hanging around, so we'll see. Thank you both for the quick reply.
     
  5. IMiteBable2help

    IMiteBable2help

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,094
    It's just that I've seen so many PC's and so many PC owners wondering why they have problems "all of the sudden" then I look at their PC's and they are either clogged with dust and never been cleaned, or a fan has stopped working and there is obvious signs of overheating. A simple hardware monitor (software) can read the various components and tell you if they are getting hot, even if the software isn't exactly accurate to the degree.
     
  6. Krivoirog

    Krivoirog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    I run Asusprob and keep my box clean so it is not a matter of negligence, though I certainly am capable of (not)doing things that could be seen as such {grin}. I am now of the opinion that my problem is my video card, as I read in another post, if it was my monitor I would not be getting any image, not even on the web. So, I've started a new piggybank. Sigh, I hate being patient about such stuff -- I want it NOW!
    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/789523