1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't load Macromedia flash player

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by dano_61, Feb 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,230
    Hello

    I am trying to download Macromedia flash player, when i click on DOWNLOAD NOW on the Macro site nothing happens or i get a pop up saying my security settings are stopping the download from happening .
    Any suggestions ?

    Thank you

    Dan
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Try this

    From Macromedia's website:

    Internet Explorer ActiveX settings

    Although your browser security settings should be chosen by you or your system Administrator, the 'Medium: Default Level' will allow you to view Macromedia Flash content. For any Custom Level, ensure that both "Download Signed ActiveX controls" and "Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins" are not disabled. (Enable or Prompt will work).

    To view your Security Level do the following:

    Open Internet Explorer.
    Choose Tools then Internet Options.
    Select the Security tab.
    Choose Internet.
    Ensure that "Download Signed ActiveX controls" and "Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins" are not disabled.

    If you are having trouble installing make certain that your Internet Explorer security level is not set to High or at a custom level which does not allow viewing of ActiveX controls.
     
  3. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,230
    Hi

    OK, i have changed my security settings to promp and turned off my firewall but still nothing happening when i click on DOWNLOAD NOW .

    Dan
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Did you have any previous versions of Flash before attempting this?

    Do you have any pop-up blockers installed?
     
  5. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,230
    Hi

    No i have never had any versions of Macromedia flash player.

    Thank you
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Hmmm which firewall do you have?
     
  7. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,230
    Hi

    I am using Zone alarm firewall

    Dan
     
  8. cronista

    cronista

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    353
    Dano:
    Your last post was back in February this year.
    I am trying to solve the same Macromedia Flash problem you described (unable to download same).
    I wonder if you solved the problem. If you did, could you please post your solution here? Many people will thank you. Especially me! I have followed all the tips and hints and instrucions and have still never been able to do that download.
    Cordially,
    Cronista
     
  9. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327949

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice