1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Can't load Win98, Eplorer.exe invalid page fault

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by tjm, Dec 2, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tjm

    tjm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Can't get Win98se to load. Keep getting illegal operation notification stating "EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in module EXPLORER.EXE at 0167:00401f31".
    Can't get in in Safe Mode.
    Have tried restoring registry in Safe Mode Command Prompt but no joy.
    Could this be a Virus?
    PIII, 450MHz
    I'm clueless. Any help appreciated. (accessing net via my trusty iMac)
    TIA, Terry.
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Can you give us some background on the PC. Was any software or hardware installed, updated or removed prior to this occuring? Any history of any other problems or errors recently with the PC?
     
  3. HKEd

    HKEd

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    221
    Hi Terry...a couple of things to try:

    Hold down the Ctrl key as Windows boots until you are presented with a boot menu (or tap F8 repeatedly after you hear the POST beep). Choose "Command Prompt Only" and press Enter. At the C:\ prompt type

    dir /s explorer.exe and press Enter.

    If explorer.exe is found in C:\ (only there, not in C:\Windows), rename it thus:

    ren explorer.exe explorer.old and press Enter.

    Reboot. If this works, you have either had a Win95 version of explorer.exe in C:\ (unlikely unless deliberate) or a virus.

    If it doesn't work, try the steps outlined in this MSKB article:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q293174

    Let us know how it goes.
     
  4. tjm

    tjm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Brian, No new software or hardware. Kids do use internet however.

    HKEd: Will try your suggestions and post back. Thanks,Terry.
     
  5. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    That link provided by HKEd is a good bet to fix your problem. Most fatal Explorer errors where Windows won't even start are caused by Internet Explorer becoming corrupted in some shape or fashion.
     
  6. tjm

    tjm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Followed the fixes in the MSKB article to the letter but no joy. Strange thing though that after I had tried the fixes, the numeric code associated with the message changed. The wording remained the same (EXPLORER. EXE invalid etc.) but the numerics definately changed. ???
    The article stated that if both fixes failed that Windows may have to be completely reinstalled. Will that mean I lose all my data? And what of the offending explorer.exe file? Is that removed? Will I need to reinstall IE again? do I lose all my favourites? Thanks again, Terry.
     
  7. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  9. tjm

    tjm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    No joy with any of the fixes so had a crack at reinstalling Win98se. Thankfully I'm back in business and I don't appear to have lost anything important. Was a great impetus to do some serious backing up and getting some screenshots of ISP settings etc.- perhaps worth the scare. Anyway, thanks to all who tried to help. Terry.
     
  10. kumaresh

    kumaresh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1
    hi
    i had the same problem as yours, getting error message that about explorer.exe and will be shut down.
    canm u please tell me how to reinstall windows 98, which will be a great help as i am stuck up now
    thanks
    kumaresh
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60388

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice