1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't log in after Windows updates

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by mwmather, Apr 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Hi,

    I'm new to the forum. I recently had 24 Windows updates and now I cannot get internet access through the regular start up. I am currently in Safe mode with internet connection to write this. I tried system restore for each day on the list and either it defaults eventually to a black screen with the cursor showing, or it gets to my normal desktop but has no internet access. I called my local internet tech support and they said it might be my netcard. They want $40.00 to talk to their premier service. I'm unemployed and that would be just the beginning of the expenses depending on how long it might take for them to help me.

    Other than system restore and start-up repair, what else might I try?
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,302
    1. welcome to Tech Support Guy
    2. What OS please
    3. Howe are you connected hard wired or wireless
    4. Make and full model of the computer please if branded
     
  3. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Look in Device Manager, under Network Adapters and make sure everything is fine, no yellow triangles etc.
     
  4. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Sorry this took so long! I was on with MS Support. They did not fix the problem.

    Windows 7
    WIFI, no access to land line
    Gateway Desktop Model SX2801
     
  5. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    No yellows!
     
  6. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    My husband says to say "Yacky Da! To your flag!
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,302
    go control panel
    device manager
    expand network adapters
    what is shown please for the wireless adapter
     
  8. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Intel(R) 82567V-2 Gigabit Network Connection
    Linksys AE1000 #4
    Microsoft Virtual WiFi Adapter #6
    Sonic WALL Virtual NIC
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,302
    Boot into normal mode


    go control panel
    network and sharing centre
    on left pane click change adapter settings
    check that the Linksys AE1000 is enabled
    disable the Microsoft virtual and the sonic wall
    as you select each the options will appear on the bar above


    Then selecting the Linksys click diagnose this connection
    please post what it reports


    Which antivirus are you using please and which firewall
     
  10. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Linksys is enabled and sonic wall is disabled. Linksys will not let me diagnose in safe mode.

    I use Network Essentials, Crap Cleaner (not on the Registry) Malwarebytes, and MS Support just used Hitman Pro.
     
  11. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    I think just windows firewall
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,302
    What is shown in normal mode please on network and sharing centre


    Also what please is network essentials
     
  13. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    I couldn't get on in normal mode before but jusr did msconfig normal boot a d got some usage back but somethings came up that I thought I uninstalled years ago!!
    The network diagnostics says myd s server is not responding
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,302
    I know you cannot connect in normal mode but that does not stop you accessing control panel network and sharing centre


    Flush the dns - domain name server cache
    . Click All Programs
    3. Click Accessories
    4. RIGHT-click on Command Prompt
    5. Select Run As Administrator
    6. In the command window type the following and then hit enter: ipconfig /flushdns
    7. You will receive confirmation


    reboot and try again in normal mode




    Also what please is
    and
    a little further information would help
     
  15. mwmather

    mwmather Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Waiting on reboot

    Wanted to ask since you are in boating and in Wales, do you happen to know Trevor Bardwell-Jones? He is a family friend.
    ,,
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146813

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice