1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Can't open new window in IE

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by mcse72, Feb 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mcse72

    mcse72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    I am running XP with IE6, (with all the updates) but also had the same problem with W2k with IE6 and IE 5.5. When I'm in IE and attempt to click on a hyperlink where a new window should open it doesn't. All I get is an internal beep with no error message. I have tried just about every fix I have come accross including registering the following dll files among others from the run command:
    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 Shell32.dll
    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 Urlmon.dll
    I have tried replacing the oleaut32.dll file with an older version, and checking the usual registry settings. Right clicking the link to open in new window just produces the same thing. I have repaired and reinstalled IE and absolutely nothing has worked. The best I can do at this point is to hold the Control key when clicking on the link and the new window opens fine, but that becomes quite irritating real quick considering how much time I spend on the web. If anyone has any other suggestions, I would appreciate it. Thank you.
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    mcse72
    Seems you have covered all the usual bases. The only other thought I would have is interference by a pop-up stopper program if you have one installed.

    Dave
     
  3. mcse72

    mcse72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Yes, I forgot to mention that I uninstalled my popup program before, just to make sure it didn't have anything to do with it. It made no difference. I'm out of ideas here.
     
  4. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    If you cut and paste the link into the address bar, can you get to it then?
     
  5. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Just had the same problem myself. Do a find files for Oleaut32.dll (capital O). If it lists another one with a capital O that doesnt show the path being C:\Windows\System, then use SFC from the Run command.

    Go to Start/run, and type SFC.
    Choose 'Extract One File From Installation Disk'.
    Type oleaut32.dll, not worrying about its location. Then, click Start.

    Next to 'Restore From', type in or browse for the file’s location.

    Then, next to 'Save File In', enter C:\Windows\System, and click OK. System File Checker looks for the file, saves it as you requested, and then tells you that 'the file has been successfully extracted'.

    Reboot.

    (I say capital "O" because I found 2 listings on mine with a "o" and they locked me out of windows and I had to finish from Safemode.)
     
  6. mcse72

    mcse72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    I can cut and paste the URL to the address bar and be able to get to it that way. I can also use the Control key while clicking the link.
    As far as the oleaut32.dll file I don't have one with a capital O. The one I do have is in the Windows\Sytem32 folder which I have attempted to replaced with one I extracted from a Windows 98se CD but that didn't work so I just left the original one. Does'nt the sfc command have to be run with a switch, like sfc \scannow or sfc \purgecahe? (Which, by the way I have tried running both and neither helped my problem) Which OS were you running? Because if I just type sfc in the run line nothing happens, only when I run it with a switch or from the command prompt can I do anything with it. Please let me know if you have any other ideas. Thanks
     
  7. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Do you have the XP disk? Is that where you tried to copy the older version from? I run 98SE and am not as familiar with XP as I should be.

    Have a look at this thread

    Here
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Are these the registry settings you checked?

    If the problem is still not resolved, verify that the following registry values are present and correct:
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\Interface\{00020400-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}
    Name: (Default)
    Value: IDispatch
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\Interface\{00020400-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\ProxyStubClsid
    Name: (Default)
    Value: {00020420-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\Interface\{00020400-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\ProxyStubClsid32
    Name: (Default)
    Value: {00020420-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}


    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;EN-US;Q281679

    Also, the beep you are getting is uncharacteristic and suggests you are getting an undisplayed error. Perhaps a look at your startuplist would identify something that doesn't belong.

    http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/

    And have you looked in Administrative Tools for any errors that might be showing up in the event logs?
     
  10. mcse72

    mcse72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Well I might have found something that could be causing this. After looking at the Microsoft link above, I was able to register every file except for the url.dll. The registry settings are fine and there is nothing in the Event Viewer. I extracted a copy of the file from the XP CD i386 folder and tried to replace it using Recovery Console but it said "access is denied". From within windows I was able to rename it and then delete it in the Recovery Console then copied the file I took from the CD and replaced it from within windows. But I still can't register it. I have tried putting the complete path (i.e. regsvr32 C:\Windows\System32\url.dll) but still won't let me register it. I didn't write down the exact message but said something to the effect that it was loaded but couldn't be registered. If I can figure out a way to register this file my problem might be solved..... Hopefully!
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  12. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Url.dll doesn't appear to be a self registering file in XP, which explains why you should get that error message when trying.

    Try reinstalling IE following the steps in the link I posted.
    If this is a ase of Rog's Registry entries being missing or corrupted, that will put that right as well.
     
  13. mcse72

    mcse72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    The file version is 6.0.2800.1106 and is 104kb which seems to be a bit off from what is posted on the prior link. I will follow Tony's link to see if it solves the problem. Thanks for all the input. Iwill get back to you all as soon as I finish and let you no the result.
     
  14. mcse72

    mcse72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Okay, now I'm at a dead end :(
    I tried reinstalling IE and everything else said by Microsost on that link and no difference. IE still won't open a new window and my PC just makes that internal beeping sound each time I try. There must be something that the Control Keysupersedes to let the new window open. I need to find out what that is....I have a strange feeling I'm not alone....any help would be greatly appreciated....Thank you
    P.S. Microsoft can be your best friend or your worst enemy on any given day.
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    We have seen cases in the past where the new window process was impeded by installed spy and adware which is incompatible with IE6. So you really should give us a post of the startuplist using the previous link I posted. And install and run Spybot as well, following directions here:


    http://tomcoyote.org/SPYBOT/
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118715

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice