1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't ping computers on network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by delta_kilo, Oct 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. delta_kilo

    delta_kilo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    I have two computers running win XP each is connected to a Linksys WRT160N router and from there to the internet. My problem is I can ping each computer using their IP address 192.-.-.-. , but I can't seem to ping them using their (Names) only is this normal? I also can't share files or the printer between the two computers. Under my network places neither computer shows up I'm wondering if there might be a setting in the router I've missed or windows firewall? I have run windows network setup disk on both computers several times, all file and print sharing is turned on I don't get it any ideas?


    Thanks Dave
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's see this for each computer.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    Note that there is a space before the -n or the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the - or / in the following commands.

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. delta_kilo

    delta_kilo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Well I tried to enter the commands you suggested, but every time I hit the enter key the cmd window shows up for just a split second then disappears I can't view it to do a cut and paste?


    Dave
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, that's one, and the nbtstat output seems a bit sparse, that's probably and indication of the issue. How about the other two computers?
     
  6. delta_kilo

    delta_kilo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Here is computer 2 I have no other computers in this network.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    >nbtstat -n

    MSHome:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.100] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    IC756 <20> UNIQUE Registered

    Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    >nbtstat -n

    MSHome:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.100] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    IC756 <20> UNIQUE Registered

    Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    >ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : IC756
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter MSHome:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-EA-42-F3-09
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    68.87.76.182
    68.87.78.134
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 03, 2010 5:14:29 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 04, 2010 5:14:29 PM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-10-E4-A2-1E
     
  7. delta_kilo

    delta_kilo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    >nbtstat -n

    MSHome:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.101] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    HOUSE <20> UNIQUE Registered

    HOUSE <20> UNIQUE Registered

    >ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HOUSE
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter MSHome:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-72-91-A6
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    68.87.76.182
    68.87.78.134
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 03, 2010 5:17:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 04, 2010 5:17:39 PM
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    NETBIOS over TCP/IP doesn't appear to be functioning correctly, I see no master browser and no names in the cache.

    Check that all your network services are Started:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  9. delta_kilo

    delta_kilo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    John
    Thank you so much it's all working now!!!!!!! several services were in manual and workstation was disabled on both computers everything is working just fine. Thanks again. Dave
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Glad we could assist. :)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/953976

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice