1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't ping router or default gateway

Discussion in 'Networking' started by m.dealy, Oct 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. m.dealy

    m.dealy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Greetings,

    Just replaced a power supply unit in my desktop, and now I cannot access the internet. I am ethernet connected to a 4 port linksys router.
    2 laptops I use can use the router ports and cables ok.

    I have automatically use DNS and obtain IP address as yes.

    Here is the output of IPCONFIG /all
    When I try /ipconfig release & renew, it times out looking for the DHCP server.

    I can only ping my own IP address not the default gateway or any of the dns servers.

    Any suggestions?

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : central
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.pa.comcast.net.



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.pa.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE NetworkConnection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-11-A7-78-AD

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.75.194

    68.87.64.146

    68.87.72.130

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 10/21/2008 8:41:09 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10/22/2008 8:41:09 PM
     
  2. avisitor

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,710
    Have you tried restarting the router (Make and Model, please)?
     
  3. m.dealy

    m.dealy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Yes I have recycle router and modem and rebooted several times now. thanks. I have been at this for a few nights now
    It is a linksys wrk54g. OS is is XP.

    Here is ipconfig from the laptop I am using attached to same router via ethernet. Its a work laptop, so I XXX out company name.

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : qsd075241

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : XXdev.XXX.net

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : XXXdev.XXX.net

    hsd1.pa.comcast.net.




    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.pa.comcast.net.

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566MM Gigabit Network Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-91-B7-14

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.75.194

    68.87.64.146

    68.87.72.130

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 21, 2008 5:48:27 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, October 22, 2008 5:48:27 PM
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    is the default gateway correct?

    can you connect to the gateway's web page?
     
  5. m.dealy

    m.dealy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    From the laptop, I can use IE and connect to the admin page of the linksys router using 192.168.1.1 , which is the default gateway I assume.
     
  6. m.dealy

    m.dealy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    It turns out that a service from Macafee was preventing IP traffic from getting to the default gateway. I shut down the macafee services one at a time from control_panel->admin_tools->services.
    The service macafee_privacy_service when shut down would allow traffic to 192.168.1.1 via a dos prompt ping. When this service was up, I could not get to the default gateway or any where else.
    I don't know why it started having this effect all of a sudden, it had been installed for over a year without issue.

    Thanks
    Mark
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    if you updated it, it may have caused it to change some settings.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/761480