1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't reach an FTP site

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Dave Danger, Mar 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dave Danger

    Dave Danger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    I'm trying to reach a friend's FTP site and can't get any connection/response.

    Direct FTP attempt: The operation "times out".
    Pinging his IP address from CMD prompt: All attempts time out.
    Tracert to his IP: It begins the trace process, but loses the route after about 4 hops.

    I have placed his IP address in the excluded (allowed) sites in my firewall settings. I can't figure out what else may be preventing my connection. Any help?

    Dave Danger

    XP Pro SP2, Asus A7N8X-X MoBo, AMD Athlon XP at 1837.5 MHz.
    512 MB DDR-SDRam.
    Symantec Internet Security, AVG Free 7.0.308, SpySubtract/Adsubtract, NoAdware, Ad-Aware SE Personal
     
  2. squidboy

    squidboy

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    403
    Can any others connect to his FTP? In *general*, FTP connection issues are resolved on the host side, not the client side.

    That said, FTP has a habit of opening random ports as well but can eventually be connected to if his ports are open and shares made correctly.
     
  3. Dave Danger

    Dave Danger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Squidboy,
    I'll find out about other's access. This is a freshly setup FTP site, and we're actually simply in the testing phase (I'm the guinea pig). I'm simply trying to make sure that the connection problem isn't at my end.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You don't need to open any ports as the client to the FTP site, so I suspect the problem is at the other end, the FTP server.
     
  5. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,234
    Yup I isyuauly do it like this - Setup the FTP, test the FTP within the LAN then test it outside the LAN if it works within the lan you can look at router settings and tweak those.

    The thing about pings is some domains actually block ping attempts so that also is not telling you to much as well.

    BTW I hate when people block ping attempts makes troubleshooting a bit more of a pain if you ask me.
     
  6. Dave Danger

    Dave Danger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks for the assistance guys,
    We're still working on it.

    Dave Danger
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/339178

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice