[SOLVED] Cant run at 100mb ??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

eurodat

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
21
I have a LANhere in my house with 4 PC's on it. All the PC's have 10/100 NICs and the cheap mini switch i bought is a 100/10M net-Lynx SW808X-R.

The problem i have is that if i have a network cable longer than a few feet i have to set the PC network card to 10MB as at 100MB it is not seen on the network and can't browse. If i move the offending PC close to the mini switch and use a short cable, its fine at 100MB.

All the cables check out fine so i was wondering if maybe the mini switch might be the problem and maybe it's attenuating the signal or something?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You are not checking the cables out correctly. :D

While a cheap network tester will indicate the cables are good, you have the classic signs of incorrectly wired pairs in the cable. Remember, the two pairs normally in use are 1-2 and 3-6, note that they're not on adjacent pins on the connector. If the cable is wired with the pairs on 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, and 7-8, it'll look fine to a simple continuity tester, but it won't work properly for the network, and it gets much worse at 100mbit. The proper pairing is VERY important, and the cables won't work properly any other way.

This is way more common than you think, even when "professionals" wire them. :D I have a bag of connectors and my crimp tool for accounts that have just been wired and I'm installing the computers. I run through a lot of connectors fixing new cables. :D

FYI, here's a page that shows you the pinouts for straight and cross-over cables. http://www.cabletron.com/support/techtips/tk0231-9.html
 

eurodat

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
21
(y) That was it!!! Thanks John... I cut the connectors off and made new ones according to the diagram and yessssss.. at last 100MB

THANKS AGAIN... I owe you a beer :D
 

eurodat

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
21
Not quite... Lincoln, England.. but if you are ever passing through.... :p
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Originally posted by johnwill:
Make it a virtual beer unless you're in SE-PA! :D:D
Hey, I didn't know you were in SE-PA???? Did I? :confused:
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, I know you're in LV, so you should know I'm in SE-PA! :D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Originally posted by eurodat:
Not quite... Lincoln, England.. but if you are ever passing through.... :p
I really should keep a book of all the virtual beers I'm owed, maybe someday I'll be in places where I can collect! :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top