1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't set up network between 3 computers.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Silverhandorder, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Silverhandorder

    Silverhandorder Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Here are my problems. I tried to make a network between 3 PCs. My first problem is that I do not know how to set up a network on windows vista. My second problem is that my main PC can not go online anymore, it would ask me to dial up when I have cable. My last problem is that the comp will not recognize each other on the network.

    My PCs are connected by ethernet cable. I am assuming that is all I need? They all connected to a single router.

    Can some one help me? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    This may help with the Vista: http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2006/12/windows-xp-and-vista-on-lan-together.html

    Is the main PC successfully connected to the router and just can't access the internet? Or can it not access the router either? What is the operating system? For that main PC ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. Silverhandorder

    Silverhandorder Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Nikita>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : silverhand
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-4B-01-CB-4D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No  could this be the problem? What is this?
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-4B-01-CB-4C

    C:\Documents and Settings\Nikita>

    That was for my main PC.

    This is for the one I am posting on.


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-10-DC-E4-DE-CB
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 167.206.3.238
    167.206.3.235
    167.206.3.172
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, November 01, 2007 5:19:09
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, November 02, 2007 5:19:09 PM


    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    "IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes" indicates that Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) is enabled; you probably want to disable that.

    If you are trying to connect with Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2 you need to disable ICS (the other ethernet? dial-up? ?) and then make sure the TCP/IP properties are 'obtain IP auto' and 'obtain DNS auto.'

    If you are trying to connect with Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection you need to figure out why it is "Media disconnected." Could be bad LAN port on router, bad cable, or bad NIC.
     
  5. Silverhandorder

    Silverhandorder Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Alright thank you so much. It works great now :D. I had to disable it on the connection that was not working (local area conection 1). The internet started to work also.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/646622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice