1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't start XP after changing motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by oldchap, Aug 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oldchap

    oldchap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have experienced the failure of an Intel D865GLC motherboard with Pent-4 3.0 processor. I have replaced the motherboard. Now, when powered on and after passing the Intel Logo screen, the screen blackens and displays this message, "The system could not be restarted from its previous location due to a read failure -- delete restoration data and proceed to system boot menu." Beyond that point the only option I can see is to cut power.

    I have an old Acronis startup CD that will open (shows on the monitor) after I have now reset the startup priority from C:\ to the CD, but I no longer have the Acronis backup file that is required to complete. (I mention this only to report that the monitor will receive from the CD drive.)

    A computer friend thinks the MBR on the hard drive has become corrupted, but that is indefinite.

    The computer was running XP home and came with the OS pre-installed. I don't have a CD for the home version, but I do have an XP PRO CD for another computer. I put it in the CD drive on the ailing computer and a message briefly came up saying to press any key to go to the CD, but when pressed or not pressed, the black screen message quickly reappears.

    I obviously don't know what to do and need suggestions. Is there such a thing as a plain old start-up CD like we used to have for DOS that will let me begin getting back into business? My HD is a 250 gig IDE Western Digital that has a verification program which has been showing it to be in good condition. Everything was accessible prior to the motherboard failure.

    I pray that someone out there has the expertise and patience to please help me. Many thanks if you do!
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,577
    Did you replace it with the same motherboard? If not then Windows will not boot correctly on a different motherboard; you'll need to do a Repair install of Windows or a fresh install of Windows(better) - in some cases you'll need to wipe the drive clean with a utility before Windows will do a new install.

    If it is the same motherboard, and if you are using a SATA drive, then make sure you have teh controller set to the same mode as before; ie. IDE/Legacy, ACHI, or RAID.
     
  3. oldchap

    oldchap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for replying.

    (1) In time back I had a problem that the local tech school people thought was due to a faulty CPU or motherboard. I purchased both, installed them, then still had problem. A tech student discovered a bad memory stick, so I kept the old board and processor as spares. Now the newer one has failed and been replaced with the old one. So, I now have a different motherboard but the same one that was originally in this computer.

    (2) I don't have a CD from which to do a repair or fresh install. The XP OS came pre-installed with no CD.

    (3) The drives are all IDE, one HD and two disk drives.

    (4) I'm looking for an option that does not require reformatting the HD, if possible.

    (5) As stated in my preceding post, the computer is running XP home edition with no CD. I have a CO for XP PRO that is running on another computer. Is it useable with XP Home to get the problem solved?

    (6) I run DOS programs on the XP OS> Will the never Windows operating systems allow the use of DOS programs?

    Can you comment on my answers, please? Thank you.
     
  4. ImDatingJava

    ImDatingJava Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Try these two possible solutions:

    1.In the BIOS screen, where the settings are, enable where it says "write caching."

    2.Update the BIOS firmware revision, if possible.
     
  5. oldchap

    oldchap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you, ImDatingJava.

    Several have said I need to repair from the MS XP home diskette, which I never had. The OS was pre-installed on the computer - a dumb move, perhaps. Anyway, I found today a local person who works on computers and says he can make any of them work. I hope he is right. He likely has discs for all the MS operating systems. I can go to the BIOS and enable "write caching" but I'm uncertain about updating BIOS. I'll see what happens through my local contact before I try more on my own. I'm a residential electrician, not versed well on computer malfunctions.

    My sincere thanks for your suggestion, which I might need to try.
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    If you bought a pre-built system with Windows XP installed, it was almost certainly an OEM licence which means it's tied to the motherboard. Replacing the motherboard requires a new Windows XP license as well as a repair or full reinstall.

    I would suggest a new computer since a new, full Windows XP license will cost more than the motherboard or than the computer is worth.
     
  7. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    When you change a motherboard in a computer unless its the exact same one you will have problems with activation because its considered a major hardware change and microsoft thinks you are using the COA key on a different computer instead of the one it was used on with the broken motherboard.All you can do since you dont have disks for it is buy a retail copy of xp home if you can even find one or possibly getting the correct recovery/ restore disks for that model of computer from whoever made the computer if its the same motherboard. If it isnt then i dont know if the recovery /restore disks will even work.
     
  8. oldchap

    oldchap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks to all for suggestions. Today a young computer-literate friend opened the BIOS, enabled 'legacy' that had been disabled previously, booted from the same hard drive formerly in use, telephoned MS to activate, and had the computer going on the new motherboard in minutes. No operating system disk was required, no 'repair' or 'reinstall' was performed. I am a happy camper! BUT, your input was valuable in getting me to where I am. Thank you!
     
  9. ImDatingJava

    ImDatingJava Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Glad your problem is solved!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063697