1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Can't type numbers in Windows Eight

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by EBSchrader, Jun 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    Now my numbers appear as letters, and I can't figure out how to get them back -- looks like capitals of numbers like exclamation points won't print either. :mad:

    There must be a setting that I haven't found. Any suggestions? My passwords won't work without numbers...
     
  2. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    I have narrowed the program down mostly to Google -- Gmail, Hotmail, and Google Search won't show numerals. Nothing shows here when I try to type a numeral.
     
  3. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,860
    If this is a laptop, do you have the "Num Loc" on?
     
  4. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    Not a laptop, and I've tried it with and without the NUM LOCK on. It has no effect. The numbers and their cap forms work fine when I'm not online or doing anything related to Google, which leads me to suspect Google as the problem, but how do I go about fixing it? I went all over the Google site and couldn't find anything that would help me...where I didn't have to use numbers to explain it.

    Now I've decided to dump Windows Eight, and it appears the only way I can get my Windows Seven back is to do a clean install...meaning I'll lose every program I've added since it was originally installed :(
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,860
    That is why most Beta testers burn an "Image" before installing any Beta programs or OS.
     
  6. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    Not a very helpful reply, sir. And I'm not a Beta tester on Windows Eight -- I'm trying out the pre-release version, AFTER the Beta tests.

    I should mention that my new Droid Razr Maxx can't seem to type numbers either in Google, which is necessary for its operation as well as two of my three e-mail accts.
     
  7. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,860
    Any one installing a" Preview" copy of a OS, should know that it is BETA, and things will go wrong or not be supported.

    Then you need to contact Google since that is the place you are having issues.
     
  8. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    I'd LOVE to contact Google and get some help with my number problem, but I can't seem to find where in Google to get that help. FAQ is worthless and typing my question leads to more FAQ that are equally worthless. How can one get actual HELP from Google?:confused:
     
  9. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    1234567890 Aha(y) I can use my number pad, even tho I still lose all the caps for the numbers across the top. This is a small breakthrough.
     
  10. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    A here's another minor breakthrough. Someone suggested that I type all the number caps I use frequently into a Word doc, and then copy and paste them into whatever online destination I need, using a right click and choosing PASTE. It works. Now I can at least type e-mail addies, which I absolutely could not do before. Again, the problem only occurs when I'm online. Like now.
     
  11. TechieNow

    TechieNow

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Oh man... what do we expect for a beta preview release, geez, give it a break and wait for the final version to come out then by then you can start complaining about something's not responding. I hope this wasn't to offensive but that's the truth.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,590
    I expect something as basic as this to work!

    The trouble with waiting is that it costs money for the released version, while these preview versions are free for the downloading. With Windows 7 Release Candidate I learned that it was worth $50 to upgrade my HP dv6500z from Vista. With Windows 8 Release Preview I am learning that it doesn't work as well as Windows 7 on my current computers and I don't care for it all that much so I needn't purchase it until when and if I buy new (with touch screen).

    And, while she may have been complaining, the main thrust of the thread was to try to solve the issue, or at least identify the cause.

    Not exactly welcome to see a non-helpful post nearly a month after the thread had been abandoned, but I don't find it too offensive. A little offensive, yes; too offensive, no. :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058309