1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Solved] Can't use Windows Update because of script errors

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by rds33, Nov 19, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rds33

    rds33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    110
    For several months I have not been able to use Microsoft's Windows Product Update site because I always encounter a scripting error. The error is not always the same. Today's error reads:
    Line: 94
    Char: 2
    Error: Object doesn't support this property or method: 'Document. rookie'
    Code: 0
    This is very irritating since I used Product Update for years without a problem.
    What's wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

    • e1.gif
      e1.gif
      File size:
      20.6 KB
      Views:
      63
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    just a though, open ie, tools menu, internet options, advanced, is the check box for disable script debugging checked
     
  3. rds33

    rds33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    110
    Yes, the Disable script debugging is checked. See attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

    • da.gif
      da.gif
      File size:
      4.1 KB
      Views:
      61
  4. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    And take a look at the tips at this incredible site: <A HREF="http://members.bellatlantic.net/~mrscary/winupfaq.htm">MrScary's Windows Update FAQ</A>

    Good luck,
     
  7. rds33

    rds33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    110
    TW56 and TonyKlein -
    Thanks for your quick replies. I'm checking out your suggestions right now.
    -rds33
     
  8. rds33

    rds33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    110
    After reading all the material you guys suggested I was, finally, able to successfully use Windows Update. Some of the procedures MS recommended to fix scripting problems were lengthly and convoluted. But, reading through them gave me some things to try. The problem turned out to be a proxy server I use called "WebWasher". It strips off ads, popups etc. After disabling it -AND- clearing cache (important step) the Windows Update Java script(s) ran without error.
    Thanks again, guys. Your suggestions enabled me to fix this very irritating problem.
    Unfortunately, something I did reintroduced another problem I had fixed years ago. I'll start a new thread and call it "Try Again Message at Startup".
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59009

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice