1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: can't view websites-dns error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dc57, Mar 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Hello all,

    This one is driving me crazy. I have tried just about everything I can think of to fix this problem. I can connect but cant go anywhere. I have tried fixing the winsock, fixing the hosts file and re-registering some dlls. No luck. I have tried upgrading to sp2, I have tried completely reinstalling xp. No luck. I have also tried to fix tcpip but no luck. I have reset web settings and nothing changes. I am including a hijack this log if anybody wants to see it. If anyone knows of anything else to try, please let me know.
    Thanks in advance
    Don



    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 11:03:00 AM, on 3/12/2006
    Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Nhksrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\TopSpeed\2.0\aoltsmon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cisvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.EXE
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsrte.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcshield.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\McUpdate.exe
    c:\progra~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsescn.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\urlmap.exe
    C:\Program Files\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dellnet.com/
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://yahoo.sbc.com/dsl
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - c:\progra~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshl.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VSOCheckTask] "c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcmnhdlr.exe" /checktask
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VirusScan Online] "c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCAgentExe] c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCUpdateExe] C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\McUpdate.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &AOL Toolbar search - res://C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll/SEARCH.HTML
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Shdocvw.dll
    O9 - Extra button: MoneySide - {E023F504-0C5A-4750-A1E7-A9046DEA8A21} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {4ED9DDF0-7479-4BBE-9335-5A1EDB1D8A21} (McAfee.com Operating System Class) - http://download.av.aol.com/molbin/shared/mcinsctl/en-us/4,0,0,83/mcinsctl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {5D66B431-8A5B-4ECA-AED6-6F4F411E1773} (AOLLaunch Class) - http://www.disneyblast.go.com/setup/activex/AOLLauncher.cab
    O16 - DPF: {BCC0FF27-31D9-4614-A68E-C18E1ADA4389} (DwnldGroupMgr Class) - http://download.av.aol.com/molbin/shared/mcgdmgr/en-us/1,0,0,20/mcgdmgr.cab
    O23 - Service: AOL TopSpeed Monitor (AOL TopSpeedMonitor) - America Online, Inc - C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\TopSpeed\2.0\aoltsmon.exe
    O23 - Service: Creative Service for CDROM Access - Creative Technology Ltd - C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.EXE
    O23 - Service: McAfee.com McShield (McShield) - Unknown owner - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcshield.exe
    O23 - Service: McAfee SecurityCenter Update Manager (mcupdmgr.exe) - Networks Associates Technology, Inc - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\Agent\mcupdmgr.exe
    O23 - Service: McAfee.com VirusScan Online Realtime Engine (MCVSRte) - Networks Associates Technology, Inc - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsrte.exe
    O23 - Service: Netropa NHK Server (Nhksrv) - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\Nhksrv.exe
    O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP - C:\WINDOWS\System32\HPZipm12.exe
    O23 - Service: WAN Miniport (ATW) Service (WANMiniportService) - America Online, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
     
  2. strictor

    strictor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Can you ping any IP's? Sometimes we overlook the obvious, but disable your firewall (Mcaffee and Windows Firewall), then try a website.
     
  3. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Yes, I was able to ping google using their IP address and got 4 replies. I had to type the ipconfig /flushdns command first.
     
  4. strictor

    strictor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Can you ping Google's IP address directly:

    64.233.187.99
     
  5. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    yes, that worked also
     
  6. strictor

    strictor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Hmm. Have you disabled all your firewalls? Make sure that Windows Firewall is off also. Try this just for now to see if you can get on a website.
     
  7. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    I have disabled mcafee but, unless I'm blind, I can't find anything for windows firewall.othing in the control panel or system properties.
     
  8. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Nevermind, I found the firewall and it's turned off. Still cant go anywhere
     
  9. strictor

    strictor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    You are running XP, so go to control panel, firewall client. Uncheck "enable firewall client".

    And

    Control Panel, Security Center, Windows Firewall, Off

    Do one check your connection then the next. Try to isolate which one is holding you up.
     
  10. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Firewall is off, nothing yet.
     
  11. strictor

    strictor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Make sure IE security setting are set at the mid-level. Plus this:

    1. Click Start, point to Settings, click Control Panel, and then double-click Internet.
    2. Click the Advanced tab.
    3. Under Security, click one of the following check boxes to select it:

    • PCT 1.0
    • SSL 2.0
    • SSL 3.0

    4. Click OK
     
  12. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Sorry to say that did'nt work either.
    I do appreciate all your help and quick responses. Thanks for sticking with me on this.
    Don
     
  13. strictor

    strictor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    I should have asked this initially. Is this system brand new? Have you ever connected to the internet with this PC configuration b4? Have you notified your ISP at all about this problem?
     
  14. dc57

    dc57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    This computer is about 5 yrs. old. SBC has already determined that it's not them. So has AOL.
    This is not my computer so, I think this problem has been going on for about three months now. Both AOL and SBC have had their software reinstalled and checked their connections. It seems to have started after they moved in to their new house. She told me she has not been able to get online since.
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Turn the XP firewall back on now that you have tested that.

    If you copy/paste this into the address bar, and try to go there, do you get there?


    64.233.187.99

    How did you replace the Winsock?

    You can try this for XP -- :

    http://forums.techguy.org/2305987-post4.html

    And why not order an XP SP2 CD from MS and update?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved can't view
  1. Doogler
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    493
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/449282

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice