1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Caps lock not working in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by dougglos, Jul 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dougglos

dougglos Thread Starter

First Name:
    Douglas
    I have been using Windows 7 for a few months now, and suddenly my Logitech keyboard Caps lock is not responding. I can get a capital letter in, say, Word, etc., by simply holding down the shift key, but cannot type words in capitals, other than by doing the same thing. Previously I simply pressed the Caps lock key, but recently that has had no effect. The Number lock key works perfectly, so has anyone any ideas please? Thanks.

2. rainforest123

rainforest123

Defective keyboard, perhaps.

Which Window 7? 32 or 64 bit?

Edit:
    boot to safe mode. If it happens in safe mode, I'd place a small wager on the keyboard.

RF123

3. dougglos

dougglos Thread Starter

First Name:
    Douglas
    Hello, rainforest123 - and thanks for your response. It is Windows 7 64- bit, and I took your advice and started in Safe Mode, at which time the Caps lock key functioned correctly, so obviously not the keyboard. But when I restarted normally, it had gone again! I seem to remember seeing something which enables you to cancel the Caps lock, number lock, etc., but I can't remember where and can't find it!! Does that ring any bells with you?

4. rainforest123

rainforest123

d :
    No bells, whistles, flares, parades.

When did the problem begin? Can you relate the onset to the installation or removal of hardware or software; update to W7; antivirus, other program?