Solved: Capturing/Transferrin DV to PC usin USB2 ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Rusty1952

Has anyone ever done this ? I am new to and just bought a JVC miniDV Camcorder. It says in the owners manual that one can: transfer still images stored on a memory card to a PC using USB. It also says that you can transfer still/moving images that were recorded on the DV tape to a PC as well, by using USB. :confused: I thought that one had to use the IEEE 1394 Firewire to transfer or capture the digital stills and moving images(digital video) from the Camera's DV Tape to the PC ?
If someone knows how to do this could you please help me out and elaborate some how this is accomplished using USB rather than Firewire ?! I'd like to use what I hav cuz i don't have "Firewire" on my PC as yet.

Any help id be really appreciated. Thanks.

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Many DVC's transfer the stills with USB, but the standard video transfer is IEE1394. My daughter has a Sharp that works the same way. I suspect there's no way you'll get the video on the USB link.

Rusty1952

Thanks JohnWill. Do u think that may be a misprint or even a misrepresentation of what the owner's manual says, that it can be done that way ? I"ve emailed JVC techsupport but havn't heard bak from them yet on the issue.

I read somewhere that it can be done usin USB for transfer of motion video from DV but that it wasn't a good way, cuz it looks choppy and some dropped frames in the streaming, etc. So have you ever heard of a way to do it thru the usb ? I understand that IEEE is the standard; but i'm still curious to try it that way......, Do u know of any capture programs that can do it thru USB ?? I've searched a bit on Videohelp.com but havn't found anything as yet. Any ideas ? Please let me know, thanks.

JohnWill

Retired Moderator