1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: CAT5 issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RoboGorilla, Feb 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RoboGorilla

    RoboGorilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hi All

    This is my first post so please be gentle.

    Some years ago I ran some CAT5e cable in my home and connected it to face plates. I then connected PCs, ICYBOX (NAS) to the face plate with a patch cable and the other end to my router. This has worked for years. I changed my router this week and now anything cabled will not talk to each other. If I use wireless it is OK and if I connect the PC/NAS to the router directly with a patch cable it is OK.

    So it looks like the devices don't like the wiring with the new router. Should I be rewiring the face plates differently? I can't think why they need to be different but I may be overlooking something.

    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,933
    First Name:
    Terry
    Does the new router have gigabit LAN ports and the old router had 10/100 Mbps? If so, the problem may have something to do with gigabit using all eight wires and 10/100 using only four.
     
  3. RoboGorilla

    RoboGorilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Yes the new router is gigabit but the devices are not. I did consider the gigabit ports but as the devices were older I didn't think that they would require the additional wires to connect. I'll take a look at a new wiring diagram and re-wire.

    Thank you for your advice.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,063
    First Name:
    James
    TN: would the ports show a link light even if the wiring was for all 8?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,933
    First Name:
    Terry
    I have no idea what kind of circuit is used for the link light. My guess is that it involves no more than two wires.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,063
    First Name:
    James
    That's what I was thinking too.

    RG: Can you connect direct to the router with any of the devices?
     
  7. RoboGorilla

    RoboGorilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hi Couriant

    Yes I can connect directly to the router with a simple patch cable. I think TN is correct and I need the 8 cables connected. I'll give it a go this weekend and let you all know.

    Thanks for your reply.
     
  8. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,069
    What wiring standard are you following? Is it T568A or B?
     
  9. RoboGorilla

    RoboGorilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
  10. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,069
    Have you been consistent in wiring both ends with T568B? I've done my own wiring in my house and haven't run into any issues that you've described.
     
  11. RoboGorilla

    RoboGorilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I have been careful to be consistent but as it was many years ago I only connected 4 of the 8 connect ions. I only had 10m devices back then. So the suggestion by TN sounds like it could resolve the problem. I am going to rewire this weekend and will let you know. If it works I can then do it for all of the face plates in the house.

    Thanks again for all of your help and advice.
     
  12. RoboGorilla

    RoboGorilla Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Just re-wired using all 8 wires, all working again now. Thank you TerryNet!
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,933
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088335

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice