1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: ccsvchst.exe

Discussion in 'General Security' started by wes0125, Feb 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wes0125

    wes0125 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Does anyone know what exactly ccsvchst.exe does? I know it's a Symantec/Norton prog and in our case part of Symantec Endpoint Proctection, but what does it do? It consistly uses 40-50% of the CPU and I think is contributing to the slow down of one of our progs.

     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,520
    well, from here............

    just out of curiosity, have your tried killing the thread with either task manager or process explorer? Also, is this happening across the field, or only on one pc?
     
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    The ccsvchst.exe file is automatically added to your computer upon installing the Norton software, and it is referred to as the Symantec Service Framework. The ccsvchst.exe file works to display the GUI (Graphical User Interface) of Norton products, which usually include the Norton Security Suites. If the ccsvchst.exe file encounters a problem, the Norton’s graphical interface will only be displayed after the computer has been rebooted.

    Almost all Norton products come bundled with the ccsvchst.exe file. It is important for this file to be found with the installation of these software products since the user interface is where the user interacts with the computer are made possible by this file. As new versions of Norton products are released, the graphical user interface also changes.

    http://www.processlibrary.com/directory/files/ccsvchst

    Try the latest version of Norton. Perhaps they have finally fixed the issue. :rolleyes:

    Click on Start > Run > type services.msc

    Locate that Service (Symantec Service Framework) and change its Startup Type from Automatic to Manual.

    This is a common issue with Norton. I would suggest dumping Norton and getting a much better alternative.

    If you do decide to remove Norton, be sure to use the Norton Removal Tool. Run it at least twice. Norton is really a pain to get rid of!
     
  4. wes0125

    wes0125 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    thanks gang. i think Phantom010 answered my question.
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    You're welcome!
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,520
    n/j, phantom...........

    but this time I was first.............;)


    (y)
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    :p
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/899991