1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: cd/dvd drive problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cloudx77, Jun 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cloudx77

Cloudx77 Thread Starter

ok,i have a problem and its really annoying me, ive searched for the answer but at no luck

The problem is with my cd-drive.it disappeared and i have no clue where it went. it isnt even in the device manager. the only drive i have is that dvd drive that daemon tools made. also when i try to burn a cd it wont let me cause it says my burner isnt connected (its a laptop,so everything is connected internally) i googled my problem but didnt see a solution.(also im not a computer expert, but i understand some concepts). i discovered this because i had a virus and it deleted some windows things(lik regedit*not the registry just regedit so i cant edit the registry*) so i needed to put the windows cd in their to replace the file. no one was monkeying around the drive so im pretty sure its not a physical problem. also im running windows XP sp2 and i think thats all you need to know bout my computer so if you need anything, dont hesitate to ask.

your help is greatly appreciated:) thanks

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

When you boot the computer, do you see the CD displayed during the POST? You can hit the Pause key to stop the display so you can see what's discovered. Also, try booting from a bootable CD, if it boots, the CD hardware is fine.

You first need to identify what's going on, but it sounds like hardware issues.

3. Cloudx77

Cloudx77 Thread Starter

heh heh, sorry if i sound like an idiot but whats a POST?
    also i put some cd with a keyboarding program in side and it spins but nothing happens (i also tried with a dvd and a music cd)

4. o_ilove