1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: CD/DVD-ROM Drive says "please insert disc"

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by blkrdr59, May 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blkrdr59

    blkrdr59 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Windows XP Professional v. 5.1 sp3
    Abit AN9 32X motherboard
    AMD Athlon Proccessor
    LG: Super Multi DVD Drive Model: 6SA-4166B
    (Custom-Built Computer)

    when i put in a disc, autoplay doesn't pop-up so i do to run and type
    "D:\ Autoplay", a window pops up saying "please inser a disc into Drive D:"
    I've tried putting in the disc before and after i run autoplay.

    idk if the problem im having is software or hardware but the Audio Cable is properly installed to the Audio Card and the Power Cable is properly connected because it lights up and I can eject the discs...

    that leaves the slot that goes into the motherboard, the IDE slot. theres only one. the hard-drive uses a SATA 1 cable, so it's not the Hard Drive. the jumper in the back of the CD-ROM drive is on MA for master and the ribbon cable that connects the IDE th the back of the CD-ROM drive is on the Slave input.

    the ribbon cable has 3 inputs, one goes into the Motherboard (the Connect to M/B) and theres 2 other inputs along the cable, the one in the middle is SLAVE for ATA33/66/100/133MB/s and the one on the end is MASTER for ATA33/66/100/133MB/s.

    I can't seem to figure out whats going on with it, it used to work.

    any help is greatly appriciated

    THX
     
  2. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    68,026
    You cannot see any DVD in the drive in Windows Explorer? Have you tried different disks? Do CDs work?

    It may be that the drive died. Mechanical devices are more subject to shorter lives than purely electronic devices (motherboards, CPUs, etc.).
     
  3. blkrdr59

    blkrdr59 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    no theres nothing showing up on Windows Explorer, i know the cd works... i can't manage to find a update for it, could you give me a url? PS i already tried the microsoft hardware update wizard
     
  4. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    68,026
    CD/DVD drives' drivers are part of the Windows Operating System. There are no drivers, per se, that can be downloaded.

    You can try to uninstall the drive in Device Manager, reboot and it may find the drive and reinstall the drivers itself.
     
  5. blkrdr59

    blkrdr59 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    ill try that now, also, is it connected right? because my dad reconnected the drive for me 'cause i accidentally pulled it out of the casing... oops!!!
     
  6. ahk23456

    ahk23456

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Try uninstalling and restarting like Gr3iz said, this usually works. If not try unplugging the cable from the drive to the motherboard and replug it back in. If that dosent work you may need a new drive. They dont cost too much. Use newegg.com they have the best prices and selection. Also try getting a new cable.
     
  7. blkrdr59

    blkrdr59 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    thanks ahk gr3iz but, the jumper in the back of the driver has a thing on the MA clip thing (idk) for master, does that mean that the ribbon cable has to be plugged in to the driver as SLAVE, because it's plugged in on that one, should it be on master and master or slave and slave (see post #1) THX

    PS http://newegg.com does have the best prices (thanks again)
     
  8. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    68,026
    If you use the Master jumper, it doesn't matter which connector the drive is plugged into. The cable position only comes into play if you use the Cable Select jumper setting.

    The cable should be plugged into the motherboard on one end and into the CD/DVD drive on either of the other two connectors.
     
  9. blkrdr59

    blkrdr59 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    oh, ok then it's just broken, THANK YOU

    (im getting a new one off of newegg.com)
     
  10. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    68,026
    Probably for the best!

    If you are satisfied, you can mark this thread "Solved".
     
  11. blkrdr59

    blkrdr59 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    oops i forgot sorry...
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/824119