[SOLVED] Cdrom puzzle...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Andy@work

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2001
Messages
11
I'm installing Windows 98 on a coworkers computer, and everything was going fine until Windows started for the first time and it stopped recognizing the CD-Rom drive. It works in DOS, but Windows doesn't even recognize it's there. In Device Manager, the cdrom doesn't appear in the list. It's a Samsung 3230E 32x drive.
He also has a Creative AWE 32 sound card that has an IDE controller built into it. I'm going to format and reinstall windows without the soundcard, and see if that makes a difference. In the meantime, any advice would be very much appreciated.
Thanks!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Where did you have the cdrom plugged into? The soundcard?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
Shut down and unplug the IDE cable. Boot without the drive. Shut down and reconnect – also reseat the cable at the MB. Boot and there is a good chance the drive will be recognized and Windows will load the drivers.

Did you do a search for the drive in Add new hardware in control panel?
 

Andy@work

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2001
Messages
11
AcaCandy: No, it's plugged into the MB. I thought by removing the soundcard (and the IDE controller on the soundcard) that would reduce any possible conflicts causing the cd-drive to stop working.

slipe: Did as you said - no change.

I wasn't very clear earlier, this was a clean installation, and it was humming along fine until it started Windows to install the device drivers. Then it would pop up and ask for the Win98 disk (which was already in the drive, because it was installing...).
 

Andy@work

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2001
Messages
11
I posted this in the Hardware section, but I'm beginning to think it's more Windows related. I'd appreciate any help you can muster...
the link
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

I once had a similar problem. In order to work around it, I had to remove my sound, modem, and network card. Then install Windows. Then allow Windows to boot up for the first time. Afterwards, I added each card back in, one at a time. This proved to be successful.
Another suggestion is that you copy the win98 folder from your CD, onto your hard drive. Then run the install from there.

Good Luck:)
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2000
Messages
341
I had a Cd rom that was not being recognized by w98 as well. I had to follow the same steps as Columbo to get it to work.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2000
Messages
164
I am Andy@work, but I'm obviously not at work now...

Well, I've removed all the cards except the video card, and I still get the same scenario. During the Windows installation process, when it starts windows and is attempting to install things like the Com ports and such, it asks for the Win98 cd, even though it has been using it to install up to that point. I can cancel through the installation of everything it asks for (since it can't see the cd rom) and get to the desktop. No CDrom in the Device Manager.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

Seeing as you are able to work with the CD-ROM in DOS, why don't you boot up with a Win98 boot-disk, then copy the folder called Win98 off of the CD, and onto your hard-drive. This way, when you are prompted for the CD (during setup of your COM ports and such), you can point to the Win98 folder on your hard drive. This folder has all the files that you'll need.

Post back with results.:)
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2000
Messages
164
AcaCandy: It's a Samsung. I've scoured the place for drivers and turned up nothing.

Columbo: I did as you said, and about three times while copying the files over to the HD, it would stop and say there was an error. I forget now what the error was, but no matter.

SOLVED: Well, sort of. I went back to work this weekend and snatched one a new CDRom drive to see if it would work, and it worked without a hitch. I put it back, and went and bought a new one. No problems since. Thanks for all your help, people. You folks are tops!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Thanks for letting us know.....I'll mark it Solved....I was leaning towards thinking you needed real mode drivers for your older cdrom....and if a new one solved the problem.....that more than likely was it......

Plus I think I'll merge this with your other thread, as it was a hardware issue after all.....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top