1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Changed ISP and now some network computers not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bobothesmart, Jan 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bobothesmart

bobothesmart Thread Starter

Good Morning,

I am a teacher at a K-8 School and I have also been roped into being the go-to Tech Guy as well. Our building used to have a very old server that basically just served as a place for teachers to store files and not much else. We have just changed ISPs and decided that we no longer needed the server at all. I disconnected the server from the network and replaced the old ISP's modem with the new ISP's modem. At first, everything seemed OK. My computer and several other teachers' connected to the Internet with no problem. However, some of the computers in the building could not connect. We get error messages with "limited or no connectivity."
    Part of me thought that perhaps the connections themselves are bad. However, when I take my laptop to classrooms with trouble connecting - mine connects easily using their cables. If I move their computers to my room, their laptops still won't connect.
    I have put my computer side-by-side with another one to make sure the settings were the same (auto-detect IP, DNS, etc.) and can't find differences. This problems is affecting our Windows 7, Vista, and XP computers the same.

I would appreciate any thoughts about what to try next.

Thanks in advance!

2. genshi800

genshi800

For everyone having an issue getting onto the internet, refresh their dchp lease.

winxp
    start -> run -> cmd -> ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew

win7
    start -> cmd -> ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew