1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Changed Shell32.dll to notepad by accident!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Sean206, May 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sean206

Sean206 Thread Starter

I'm far from a computer expert, other than games I don't know much at all.

I was trying to get a file for a game to work so I turned to google for help, It looks like I've gone onto something I shouldn't have.

The instruction on the website was to click start and type "Shell32.dll" into the search box.
    The next instruction was to open it with Notepad, which I did... The box saying something like "always open using this program" was ticked.

After spending time googling what I'd just done it seems like that was a huge mistake, I have no idea how to change it back to its original state.
    So far everything seems to be fine but from what I read on another site the shell32.dll file has something to do with the start up so I haven't turned my laptop off yet.

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

All your dll's should have changed. Do they have a different icon?

Right-click one and check Properties. What does it say opens them?

3. Sean206

Sean206 Thread Starter

Yes, they are all notepad now..

4. peter27

peter27

Hey sean.Is your problem solved?go to c: drive->windows->system32 and check whether there are any .dll files or not?If the files are available your system is fine or else you have to restore your pc to previous restore point.

5. Elvandil

Elvandil

Download the attached file. Unzip it. Right-click the reg file inside and choose "Merge" from the menu.

Attached Files:

• dll.zip
      File size:
      533 bytes
      Views:
  6. Sean206

Sean206 Thread Starter