1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Changing Cell Width in Excel

Discussion in 'Archive: Business Applications' started by turtleman49, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. turtleman49

    turtleman49 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    I'm sure this is easy but damn if I know how!.
    In my spreadsheet I want to retain all the column widths, except the widths of certain cells on one row.. how the heck do I do that?
    :confused:
     
  2. Yorkshire Guy

    Yorkshire Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    563
    hi turtleman49,

    sorry, that cannot be done!

    But you can merge cells on a row (yuck, hate it, don't do it, gives you more problems than it's worth!),
    or
    centre a cell's value across a number of adjacent cells. that way it looks like it is wider than other cells:-
    Select two or more cells on a row / Format / Alignment / Horizontal drop down / Centre across selection

    HTH
    Hew
     
  3. MRdNk

    MRdNk

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Yea not possible, except in the ways described by Yorkshire Guy. And I have to agree with the hatred of cell merging - oh the pain!
     
  4. turtleman49

    turtleman49 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Well Spit!
    Seems like I'm always doing something painful!
    I appreciate both your reply's and I guess I'll mess around with the helpful advise and see what I can mess up, or whatever causes the most pain.
    I attached the spreadsheet so you can see what I'm doing, maybe someone has another idea to help out.
    As anyone can see I'm trying to make the yellow row cells a bit longer to spell the variety type out but keep the green row with 3 cells under it for the sizes we have in that variety. If anyone has another way to skin a cat without all the pain I'd appreciate the help..
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MRdNk

    MRdNk

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Yeah, no problem, really they're most painful when your working with lots of data, and many spreadsheets with merged cells that you suddenly discover. :(

    However, that's why you come here.

    Anyway, some questions:

    1. What's the end result for your data?
    2. How many records are you dealing with?

    If you want to stay with Excel, there is a better way to organise your data, if you have 'variety type' groups as a column with each group in each row you'll be able to filter on the group and get all the values for that group displayed on screen. With only Row 1 as the headers (field names). Excel likes this layout, as its features are built around this setup.

    However, if you're dealing with a lot of data, Access would be better. ;)
     
  6. MRdNk

    MRdNk

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    This would be my suggestion, for a start in the right direction, I have cut a couple of things out, that you may want to consider where to put that data. This however this a better layout.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. turtleman49

    turtleman49 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Cool... Your suggestion is what the sheet started out as.. LOL :D So at least I know I was on the right track!
    As time went on I have/still have the issue of different sizes of each types of rootstocks, That's why I started the painful method :rolleyes:

    to answer your questions it's really two fold, mainly it's to allow our wholesale customers to see what variety we have and and the rootstock it's on and the sizes of each item it also allows me to keep at a glance our current inventory. So if I'm a customer I should be able to look at the Citrus list and see;
    We have Limes & Lemons (variety)//Australian Finger Lime (variety type)//On "Sour" Rootstock (the root system)// and in "Liners", #5's, or #15's (sizes) and then the amount of each of the different sizes ,, in that case there's 16

    So that's the pain part.. :p In the newer version of the sheet, under the rootstock (sour, ect. ect.) I don't have the cells to post the inventory with the different sizes

    But I'm beginning to think I'm a masochist because I keep plugging away at it!..
     
  8. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    You know what's really funny, I stumbled onto doing this somehow, but I can't reproduce it! I think it may have been a bug (Excel 2007). :(
     
  9. turtleman49

    turtleman49 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    LMAO :D

    Oh the Pain!,
    Odd how things that deal with Microsoft seem to happen like that...

    I did follow Yorkshire Guy advice and have a sheet that works for us. It's nothing complex but it works...

    I appreciate all the help the members have given me here... I really do

    (y)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755090

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice