Solved: Changing User Account Type - User to Guest - File Deleted

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kanoy83

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
5
Hi Guys,

One of our staff PC has a problem, the scenarios:

Specs: (Alias Names)
-Company Name: Contoso
-Staff PC under Domain Alpha
-PC Name: Contoso1-PC
-Local Users are: administrators and john
-User profiles:
> operations (contoso domain)
> john (local)
> administrator (local)
-MS Outlook connected to [email protected]

Thursday:
IT
1. remove/uninstall chat messengers, blocked linkedin,facebook,twitter,youtube
2. change User Account Type (Local Staff John Doe) from User to Guest
3. I change the type from User Accounts > Properties > Group Membership > Others > Guest
4. shutdown the system

Friday

1. turn on the PC and staff asks for the correct username
2. provides the username, Contoso1-PC\john
3. staff login to his local account using his password

Saturday

1. staff called and his desktop files are gone and document files are gone
2. IT check the Users folder there are particular folders:
3. john and john.contoso1-pc
4. both folders empty
5. outlook not connected
6. account is totally FRESh
7. IT check on webmail under Domain Alpha, not working the usual password, webmail.contoso.com/owa
8. after an hour, the usual password works
9. IT tried to connect MS outlook 2003 using [email protected] not working saying "outlook.pst is not offline file"

PROBLEM:
1. files are gone
2. Totally FRESh account

I don't know what happen, guys please help, the FIles are gone.

Hoping your best solution.

THanks.
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,539
First Name
David
It appears to me that since a "Guest" account is a VERY limited account, that the files and folders that is does not support were deleted.

Why did you change the account to "Guest"?
 

kanoy83

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
5
i thought that if i change the account it will restrict some access, but the first usage after restart it was working fine. but how come after 2nd restart it is totally gone and its freshly new? any ideas?

but do you mean if we change the account type it will remove all the files? should it create new folder in the users right?

i didnt know that it will affect the files or it should store somewhere. can i still recover it? it didnt ask any deletion

tnx
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,539
First Name
David
As you stated in your reply, that you thought it would "restrict access, yes it does and there are a lot of folders that it (Guest account) does NOT have, so the files that were in those lost folders are gone.

I think what you really are looking for is the "Standard" account since you are using Windows 7.

What restrictions are you looking for?

How did you change this account to a Guest account?
 

kanoy83

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
5
@daveA, thanks for reply

actually i thought it would have higher restrictions not restrict access, sorry.

I change the type from User Accounts > Properties > Group Membership > Others > Guest

my question also are:

1. why after i restart or shutdown the pc, and the staff can still work on it but only after the next day the account is totally fresh?

2. is there a possibility i can retrieve the files back? I check the users folders nothing there, all 2013 are gone. I used index search still nothing.

hoping someone can help, those files are important :( Thanks.
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,539
First Name
David
The guest account does not save anything. It is designed to have a clean profile each time the macine is booted.
 

kanoy83

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
5
The guest account does not save anything. It is designed to have a clean profile each time the macine is booted.
but why is it after i change from user to guest, and restart, it works fine but this happens only in 2nd reboot. is there any chance i can retrieve back the files by restore? or powerful restore?

and also, it didnt mention any warning or other info

thanks again :(
 

kanoy83

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
5
hi guys,

i found the solution:

restore previous version. i did in the user folder same name.

Thanks alot! cheers!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top