Solved: Choosing the right case for my mobo

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

steven1350

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
862
I was just looking online for a case, as I am building a new system. However, after looking at several pics, I noticed something pretty alarming :(

This is the back of my motherboard (supposedly ATX)



And this is the back of a generic ATX case


As I was noticing, the connectors not seem to line up, especially the sound card. Is there a certain type of case I should be looking for, or am I missing something:confused::confused::confused::confused:

**I guess I should add my motherboard is an ASUS P5N-D
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,435
Your motherboard comes with an IO plate. You remove the standard IO plate from the case and use the one supplied with the board.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,435
BTW I hope you are not trying to install something like a dell, hp, compaq, etc into a standard atx case.
 

steven1350

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
862
Your motherboard comes with an IO plate. You remove the standard IO plate from the case and use the one supplied with the board.
*sigh*. I feel like a tard now :( . Seems so obvious now

Thanks for the help,
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,435
No problem. There was a time when I could not figure out how to install a motherboard into a case. Everyone starts somewhere.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,435
BTW here is a short description on how to mount a board in a new case or install a new board into your case.
How to mount a new board in a case

1) Remove the IO plate from the back of the case.
2) Place the board in the case and use something like a sharpie or a pencil to mark the case where you will need to install the standoffs.
3) Remove the board and install the standoffs.
4) Install the IO plate
5) Place the board on the standoffs and slide it into the IO plate. Secure it with the screws provided with the case.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top