1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Clearing NetBT problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by xtian900, Feb 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xtian900

    xtian900 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi I'm just new to this forum and I wanted to ask something about my network problem.

    Problem is whenever I try to repair my internet connection I always have this "the following action cannot be completed clearing netbt please contact the person who manages your network" although my internet is working fine. Also the network speed is only showing 10mbps, before it was 100mbps. Any ideas? Thanks in advance. BTW I'm using windows XP sp2 64bit
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The 10mbit connection sounds like the Ethernet drivers of the adapter itself.

    Let's see this.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    Note that there is a space before the -n or the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the - or / in the following commands.

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. xtian900

    xtian900 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hey thanks for the reply. BTW here's the result


    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>nbtstat -n
    Failed to access NetBT driver -- NetBT may not be loaded

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : sx64pc
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Attansic L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000B
    ase-T Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-39-ED-EF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 202.78.96.80
    202.78.97.41
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What do you see if you open Device Manager, Advanced tab, and Speed/duplex settings? It should be set to Auto.
     
  6. xtian900

    xtian900 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Are you talking about Ethernet settings? Well my ethernet utility automatically sets. I forgot to tell you, but sometimes the network speed is 100Mbps and when I get disconnected from the internet, and when it reconnects, thats when 10Mbps appear. And when I try to repair the connection using the repair button on the support tab on the local area connection status, thats when clearing NETBT fails. I didn't made any registry editing before this happened so I guess the problem is not in the registry.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, first off, you don't appear to have NETBIOS over TCP/IP loaded.

    Enable NETBIOS over TCP/IP for 2K/XP

    1. Right click Network Places (Network Neighborhood for W98).
    2. Select Properties
    3. Right click your Internet Connection (ex. Local Area Connection)
    4. Select Properties
    5. Make sure Client for Microsoft Networks, and File and Print Sharing for Microsoft Networks are SELECTED.
      • Highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
      • Click Properties
      • Click Advanced
      • Select the WINS Tab Above
      • Make sure Enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP is SELECTED
    6. Click OK and Close Network Connections Window.



    Next, the network speed toggling between 10mbit and 100mbit sounds like a bad cable or bad port on one of the ends. Try a new cable and a different port on the router first.
     
  8. xtian900

    xtian900 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hmmm... NetBIOS over TCP/IP is already enabled.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, it's not working. :)



    Check that all your network services are Started:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  10. xtian900

    xtian900 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I'll check it out tommorow I'm kinda sleepy already. Anyway, thank you john! I'll just post it here if it worked out.
     
  11. xtian900

    xtian900 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Problem solved! TCP/IP Netbios helper was disabled at start-up.When I created a new hardware profile I must have disabled it. Many thanks John!
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Glad we could assist.


    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  13. xtian900

    xtian900 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I'm loving this site already
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's what we like to hear. ;)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/900737