Solved: Cloning 2 PC's - Hardware Issues?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,057
I was thinking about using an Acronis backup image of my Windows XP system to clone onto an older Dell PC running Windows ME. My question concerns the hardware drivers on the Windows XP backup image which are different than the hardware the Dell. Once the Windows XP Acronis backup image installs on the Dell, will the hardware on the Dell be recognized or will there be conflicts? Also will there be any BIOS conflicts?

Thanks ...
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Yeah, you would have to do a repair install to make that work. Branded systems don't allow you to do that. You need a genuine XP disc to do it.

Additionally, it's a violation of the EULA to move the operating system to another box.
 

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,057
Thanks for replying, so this wouldn't be a legal move then. I didn't think it was illegal since both PC's are mine.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Unfortunately, OEM Windows is that way. Retail versions can be moved to a different machine, but not the OEM's.
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Actually, the way it works is One computer one copy of windows. You may use the same Retail Copy of Windows on a second PC but it must be uninstalled from any other computer before you install it on another computer. It doesnt matter that you own both computers. OEM Versions of Windows are tied to the system that they were originally installed on the first time. If you change the Motherboard on that system legally the OEM copy of Windows must expire with the old motherboard.

There are also Multiple License Copies of Windows but you have to pay for each license to install it on more than one PC at a time.
 

GoJoAGoGo

Joe
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
42,057
OK, thanks for the replys. I'll mark this thread as "solved" ...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top