1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Co Processor issue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wizwych, Dec 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hi guys came across your site via Mr Google

    And im hoping you can aide me in a small problem

    When i boot up my machine i get a message saying "New hardware found Co Processor" when i try let windows find the mentioned it just says cant find it

    In my device manager i have a yellow Exclamation mark beside the SYSTEM DEVICES -> coprocessor

    I visted the Nvidia site to update my GFX card driver which is a Geforce 8400 GS to the newest driver and still the coprocessor warning keeps appearing.

    I would be greatful for any help on this matter cos its driving me nuts..

    Kind regards.

    Wizwych
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    It is probably related to the motherboard chipset drivers. Do you have any other yellow exclamation mark devices?
     
  3. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    No just that one ive been to the biostar website for a download but im confused as to what im supposed to be downloading to rectify the problem

    Everest says..
    --------------------------
    Manufacture: Biostar Group
    Product: GF8100 M2 + SE
    --------------------------

    But when i goto the biostar website im unsure what to download.
     
  4. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
  5. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I am guessing SMU or SMbus. Double click the yellow device in Device Manager to open the Properties display, then click the Details tab. In the Property drop down menu select Hardware ids. You should see a text string similar to PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0271. What does it show?
     
  6. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    sorry for delay in replying had write it out manually

    from what you asked here it is

    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0753&SUBSYS_340B1565&REV_A2\3&267A616A&0&0B
     
  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Thanks. I downloaded the drivers and found it looks like you need the "Chipset-SMU" driver.
    I don't know your operating system so choose one of the ones for X86 depending on whether you have XP or Vista/7.

    After you download the zip file, right click and extract the files to some temp folder, and then run Setup.exe,
     
  8. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    You my son are a star :) that cured the little sod Thank you so much Frank :) I owe you a beer :)
     
  9. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    You are welcome.
     
  10. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Ah frank your gonna hate me i rebooted the coprocessor problem has gone now i have a red x on one of my devices..

    SYSTEM DEVICES -> NVIDIA nforce SYSTEM MANAGEMENT CONTROLLER
     
  11. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0753&SUBSYS_340B1565&REV_A2\3&267A616A&0&0B

    incase you need the details from it..
     
  12. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    I seem to have solved the issue i just had to re-enable it hope i havent wasted your time with this second problem...
     
  13. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    You may need the other driver named "Chipset-SMBus" as well. Did the computer happen to come with a motherboard driver install CD?

    Edit: I see it is now working so maybe better not to try this.
     
  14. wizwych

    wizwych Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you yet again Frank :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971555

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice