[SOLVED] Compaq 54xx

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lonesome_wolf2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Messages
410
Ok, this compaq computer, will not load into windows.

The computer starts up and goes through normal procedures as follows;

POST ==> Starting Windows 98 ==> Windows 98 Splash screen ==> Black screen with a blinking cursor ==> black screen with out a cursor. Stops...

I can load into safe mode. I've tried reinstalling windows. I've ran scanreg. Scandisk. Checked for viruses...., none found. Still it wont load into windows normally. Ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Does it stops completely with no further disk access? How long do you wait before shutting it off? Have yo tried the boot option of confiming items loading from your config.sys and autoexec.bat files? If you can lod safe mode it is more than likely a driver issue and a device is not responding. Try taking out all your cards except the video card and see if you get anywhere. If you get windoze to load, try adding the cards one at a time until it fails.
 

lonesome_wolf2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Messages
410
Well, let me first reconcile my last post. The computer isnt a 59xx compaq its model is a 54xx compaq. Second of all, i just tried to load it in safe mode and it gave me the following message:

Himem.sys is corrupted or missing. Press enter to continue using your computer.

I then press enter.


Please verify that himem.sys is in your windows folder

I booted with a cd and yes, himem is there.

I have replaced the file, and still i get nothing.
 

lonesome_wolf2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Messages
410
Ok, here's what i did:

After reinstalling another fresh copy of windows, it still produced the same error. When in doubt: RESTORE

I ran the restore cd, put everything back to the way it was. And, now the computer runs fine. I dont know what had happened to cause the computer to do this, but i guess its one of life's mysteries now......

:)
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
1,818
Sounds like it was a registry problem to me. There was probably a bad driver trying to load stopping Windows dead in its tracks.

If you don't format, just reinstall over the top of a previous Windows installation, the registry isn't overwritten with a clean copy.

Doing a factory restore formats the hard drive and then resets everything including a fresh copy of Windows and the registry.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top