1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Compaq 54xx

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by lonesome_wolf2000, Dec 11, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lonesome_wolf2000

    lonesome_wolf2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2000
    Messages:
    410
    Ok, this compaq computer, will not load into windows.

    The computer starts up and goes through normal procedures as follows;

    POST ==> Starting Windows 98 ==> Windows 98 Splash screen ==> Black screen with a blinking cursor ==> black screen with out a cursor. Stops...

    I can load into safe mode. I've tried reinstalling windows. I've ran scanreg. Scandisk. Checked for viruses...., none found. Still it wont load into windows normally. Ideas?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Does it stops completely with no further disk access? How long do you wait before shutting it off? Have yo tried the boot option of confiming items loading from your config.sys and autoexec.bat files? If you can lod safe mode it is more than likely a driver issue and a device is not responding. Try taking out all your cards except the video card and see if you get anywhere. If you get windoze to load, try adding the cards one at a time until it fails.
     
  3. lonesome_wolf2000

    lonesome_wolf2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2000
    Messages:
    410
    Well, let me first reconcile my last post. The computer isnt a 59xx compaq its model is a 54xx compaq. Second of all, i just tried to load it in safe mode and it gave me the following message:

    Himem.sys is corrupted or missing. Press enter to continue using your computer.

    I then press enter.


    Please verify that himem.sys is in your windows folder

    I booted with a cd and yes, himem is there.

    I have replaced the file, and still i get nothing.
     
  4. lonesome_wolf2000

    lonesome_wolf2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2000
    Messages:
    410
    Ok, here's what i did:

    After reinstalling another fresh copy of windows, it still produced the same error. When in doubt: RESTORE

    I ran the restore cd, put everything back to the way it was. And, now the computer runs fine. I dont know what had happened to cause the computer to do this, but i guess its one of life's mysteries now......

    :)
     
  5. Nick Scott

    Nick Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,818
    Sounds like it was a registry problem to me. There was probably a bad driver trying to load stopping Windows dead in its tracks.

    If you don't format, just reinstall over the top of a previous Windows installation, the registry isn't overwritten with a clean copy.

    Doing a factory restore formats the hard drive and then resets everything including a fresh copy of Windows and the registry.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61452

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice