Solved: Computer administrator

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

imaitken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
4
I really need help. I have XP Home and am trying to delete some startup items using msconfig. Even tho my user account is the administrator account, it will not let me make any changes. It says I am not the administrator. I don't have any idea why it is saying this. I have tried to do things like this before and always get the same answer. Please help.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,899
Try using Ccleaner, on the right click Tools > Startup. You can also try running MsConfig as an administrator.
 

imaitken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
4
I am using the User Account that is the Administrator account. Is there another account I should be using? I thought my User account as computer administrator was all I needed but I cannot make changes to Startup using msconfig. It says I have to sign on as the Computer Administrator. Isn't that what I have done?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,899
You are correct, but try using the Ccleaner option or logging into the built in administrators account, before you try anything dratic :D
 

imaitken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
4
I tried using CCleaner. It seemed to work, but the next time I logged on it I got a message that said I had to set msconfig to Normal Startup because it was in Selective Startup. When I go to Normal Startup, The startup items return to the original settings. What now?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,899
It sounds like a configuration error somewhere. Can you post a screenshot of the message you got at startup please.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
14
Instead of using msconfig to edit startup items, I've always recommended editing the registry, but backup the folder fist. You want to go to HKLM>Software>Microsoft>Windows>Current Version>Run

Back up (export) this folder so that it can be restored if need be. In there you will find the .exe's that are running on startup. Simply delete the entries for the exe.'s you don't want to run on startup.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top