Solved: Computer almost boots...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dreddnaut

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
107
Here is my problem:

I just replaced the motherboard with everything else remaining the same. When I power the computer on, I get the single "beep", the normal DOS messages with options to enter setup or boot menu, then constant rebooting. I go into setup, have the boot list as "HDD - CD-ROM - USB" (which I changed to CD - HDD - USB). The automatic repair tool it keeps trying to run can't seem to get it started. I have a DVD drive, CD burner (both IDE) and a SATA HDD with Windows 7. I just cannot seem to get past the DOS screen. I know it's vague, but can anyone help? What do you need for information? I feel like I'm missing something small yet extremely significant. At one point, I saw the HDD listed as D:, so I unplugged the 2 IDE drives, leaving only the SATA HDD plugged in, thinking C: wasn't being "assigned" properly. Same result. Thank you.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
When you change the motherboard, unless it's the exact same board you will have to reinstall windows, but sometimes a repair install will work.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
The chipset drivers and other motherboard drivers are tied to the old board. If you have the disk you can boot off that and try a repair install.
 

Dreddnaut

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
107
I assume you mean the Windows disk? I do have the disk that came with the motherboard, but I can't get the computer to recognize it. The disk gets ignored in the reboot cycle. So, once I do a Windows repair-install, the motherboard CD should then come into play?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You can't do a repair install of Windows 7. Backup your data, format the drive and do a clean install. You must a Windows 7 disc to do the install, the motherboard disc is only for installing drivers after you have installed Windows.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
The poster can't get into Windows to do a backup. I've done repair installs, but it's hit and miss when a new motherboard is the reason. You can reinstall Windows 7 and it will create a folder on the c drive named Windows old. Your documents will (should) be in that folder. If you format and do a fresh install (which is best) you will loose all your files.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
He'd have to backup the data using another computer.

Installing a copy of Windows next to the previous copy is not a repair install, and with Windows 7 you have to be able to boot into Windows to do a repair installation using media thats at the same level of service packs as the installed copy unless you know of another way with Windows 7 unlike Windows XP.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
I forgot to mention that if service pack one is installed then a repair or re-install will not work with the origional disk.
 

Dreddnaut

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
107
Thank you. I'll figure out a way to get my data backed up then do a fresh install. Another question - why do I see the option to repair when I boot with the Windows disk? Is Windows 7 "repair" different than XP "repair"?
 

Dreddnaut

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
107
Yes, I saw that when I tried to boot up without the Windows disk. Maybe we're talking about the same thing, but I was referring to the repair option when booting from the Windows disk. Two options, install and repair. My apologies if I'm rehashing the same thing.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Doesn't the Windows 7 disc Repair option take you to the same thing?
 

Dreddnaut

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
107
I don't know, I never went beyond it. If I choose "repair" from that screen, will it hurt anything, data-wise? Looking at it, it seems exactly like the XP "repair", which I've done before. I could care less about having to re-install Windows. My only real concern is losing data.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top