1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer cannot load windows

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jim50, Feb 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    I turned the computer off with a cd for card games in the drive and now it won't startup properly. I was able to restart and remove the cd but the screen reads Microsoft Windows 98 Startup Menu. It gives me 7 options and 30 seconds to choose one. This comp. is very old and the os is win98 I tried scanreg, scanregfix, scanregrestore. I am really stuck. I also don't have a win98 cd but i do have a win98se cd is there any difference.
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Run Msconfig. Click on Advanced. Remove the check mark from "Enable Startup Menu". Click Apply. then Ok. Restart the computer when prompted.
     
  3. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Cannot run msconfig. Comp. hangs at blue screen with win98 what can i do now
     
  4. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Cannot run msconfig. Comp. hangs at blue screen with win98 what can i do now
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Whats the error message?
     
  6. Delta Dart

    Delta Dart

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    See if computer will start in safe mode. If so follow JStngRvr's "run MsConfig suggestion"
    Russ
     
  7. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    warning windows did not load choose safe mode with minamal drivers to load windows press enter
     
  8. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    You may need to reinstall Windows. Is the Windows installed in the computer Windows 98 First Edition? Do you have the ProductKey for the Windows 98 SE CD? How a bout the productKey for First Edition?

    Boot the computer with a statup diskette and bring it to a Command Prompt. At the prompt type the following and press Enter after each line:

    C:
    cd\
    Dir Precopy*.* /s

    Let me know whats on display after the last Command.
     
  9. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    I think win98 first edition is installed, but i do have win98se cd and product key i downloaded a boot disk for the floppy drive.
    Volume in drive c has no label
    Volume serial number is 133b-1edd
    Directory of c:\windows\options\cabs
    Precopy1 cab 480,768 08-24-96 11:11a
    Precopy2 cab 1,237,083 08-24-96 11:11a
    2 file(s) 1,717,851 bytes
    Total files listed:
    2 file(s) 1,717,851 bytes
    0 dir(s) 240,381,952 bytes free
     
  10. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Lets try to reinstall the actual Operating System in the computer:

    We need the product key for the operating System in the computer. Boot the computer to a command prompt. The Boot disk must be compatible with the Operating system in the computer, else we may receive an error "Wrong MSDOS Version". At the prompt type the following and press Enter:

    Find /I "ProductKey" C:\Windows\System.dat

    If you cannot run this command from the A:\ Prompt, and the boot diskette is compatible with the operating System, then type the following at the prompt pressing Enter after each line:

    C:
    cd\
    Copy C:\Windows\Command\Find.*
    Find /I "ProductKey" C:\Windows\System.dat

    Let me know if ale to obtain the product key. Also, check the back of the computer. Chances are that the ProductKey is a label thereon.

    Can you boot the computer to Safe Mode Command Only prompt by tapping on F8 during Startup?
     
  11. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    yes i found the product key but i don't have a cd for win98 i do have a cd for win98se
     
  12. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    No need. The installation files are in the computer. Follow these steps:

    Start the computer and tap on F8 during Startup to get to the Startup Menu. Select Safe Mode Command prompt Only. At the C:\ Prompt type the following and press Enter after each line:

    cd\Windows\options\Cabs
    Setup

    Follow instructions on Screen for installation.

    If you are not able to reach the Startup Menu by tapping F8 during Startup, boot the Computer with the Startup diskette. At the Menu select Command prompt without CD Support. At the A:\ Prompt type the following lines pressing Enter after each line:

    C:
    cd\
    cd\windows\options\cabs
    setup

    Follow instructions on Screen for installation. Let me know how it goes.
     
  13. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Everything went fine until i got to the installation wizard, which asked me for the win95 product key which is a lot smaller amount of characters than win98. So i am stuck wondering what to do next?
     
  14. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    I guess what you had was an upgrade to Windows 98. Lets try Windows 98 SE.

    Boot the computer with a Windows 98 SE Startup diskette. Select Command prompt with CD Support. A letter will be assigned to your CD_ROM. Take note of that. At the prompt type the following pressing Enter after each line:

    Rename C:\Windows\Win.com C:\Windows\Win.old
    Rename C:\Windows\Winver.exe C:\Windows\Winver.old

    Insert the Windows 98 SE Installation CD. At the prompt type the following and press Enter:

    X:SETUP

    Where X is the letter assigned to the CD_ROM.

    Follow instructions and prompts for installation. Since there is a C:\Windows folder in the computer, Windows may attempt to install in a directory, other than C:\Windows. You will have the option to change that. Make sure it is installed in the C:\Windows folder. That will overwrite the previous installation files in the computer.
     
  15. jim50

    jim50 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    How do i find Command prompt with cd support
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Computer cannot
  1. Sypherdin
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    404
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327410

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice