1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer Doesn't Recognize Router Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by depiction, May 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    I'm having difficulty setting up my wireless network. I bought a Netgear WGR614 and a Netgear USB adapter.

    I have gone though the on screen instructions to set it up using my wired desktop computer. I turned off my modem, connected an ethernet cord from my computer to the router and one from the modem to the router in their correct slots. I turned on my modem then a few minutes later turned on the router. All of the lights on my PCI card and the router are lite as should be according to the instructions. Then the setup restarts the network to detect a connection with the router. After about 4 times it still doesn't notice the connection. Note I have already verified that all cords are secure and in the appropriate slots.

    I have also gone through the manual installation intructions, but a connection is still not found. I have tried everything I could think of, but nothing works. What do I need to do to get the computer to recognize a connection?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Assuming that you did not disable the router's Dhcp server, and that you have your TCP/IP properties of your ethernet adpater set to 'obtain IP auto,' you should be getting connected.

    To post this are you using the desktop to connect directly to the modem via ethernet? If so, post the results of ipconfig /all (which you type in a Command Window). Do you have cable or DSL internet?
     
  3. CarlssonMB

    CarlssonMB

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Do you mean you are getting a 'network cable unplugged' notice?
     
  4. richard.eid

    richard.eid

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    I had the same problem on a different model Netgear Router, but the problem ended up being the port was dead. I just moved the connection from 1 to 2 on the back of the router and all was well. I know you said you tried everything, but everything can be a lot of things.
     
  5. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    I didn't do anything to the ethernet adapter settings. In order to make this post I changed my setup back to the way it originally was, and avoided the router. (The cable modem is connected directly to the computer right now.)

    I typed "ipconfig /all" in run command windows without the quotes. I have attached a screenshot of the output.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    No, I'm not getting that message. After connecting everything, the Netgear setup wizard restarts the router connection then checks for a signal, but it continually says a connection can not be found.

    By the way, would this problem have anything to do with this computer having Windows XP Home and not Professional? I sure hope not.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    It appears that you have the broadband modem plugged into one of the LAN ports of the router, not the WAN port. You should have addresses in the 192.168.x.x range if you had it connected correctly. If that's the case, you won't be able to connect more than one comptuer to your broadband account, the router is doing nothing for you.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    OK, you obtain IP configuration from your ISP, so this should be easy.

    First, and most important, ditch the wizard. The only value to that CD that came with the router is any manuals or tutorials that are on it.

    Connect modem to WAN (or Internet or Modem), LAN to PC. If you have trouble, remember richard.eid's warning about needing to try different LAN ports.

    After you've booted the PC, do an ipconfig /all
    You should see an IP of 192.168.n.x; the Gateway should be similar, and is the IP address of the router. For Netgear I think it will be 192.168.1.1

    While still in Command Window, type
    ping 192.168.1.1 (or whatever the Gateway address is)

    You should get back responses; means that you are connected to your router.

    Then try
    ping www.yahoo.com

    Responses mean that you have internet access and DNS is working.

    Launch your browser and type in the address bar:
    www.routerlogin.net/basicsetting.htm

    That should give you access to the router's status and configuration pages.

    If anything goes wrong up to this point, post and we'll see what we can do.

    I have WGR614 v5, so if you need help I can hook it up and help you with the wireless or other configuration.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Ya read too fast, JohnWill! :) You missed, "(The cable modem is connected directly to the computer right now.)"

    Always glad to help the experts! :)
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You're right, so that display was useless. :) I missed that... Gee, and I just got one on you, I didn't want to give it back so fast! ;)
     
  11. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    I know this is not what you want to hear, but it's still not working.

    I shut my computer off and made all the connections, then restarted the computer.

    The status lights on the router:
    Solid Green: Power light, Wireless, Port 4 LAN
    Blinking Amber: Internet

    Modem status lights:
    Green: Power, Cable, PC (router)
    Blinking Green: Data

    I tried all 4 LAN ports. I have attached my output from ipconfig /all. The IP that you gave that should display is correct. The default IP as printed on the bottom of the router is 192.168.1.1
     

    Attached Files:

  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Your computer did not get an IP configuration, which it should have, from the router. Possibilities:

    1. Bad LAN port. No, you tried them all.
    2. Bad cable. Probably not; use the one that you have connected PC to modem to make sure.
    3. Bad ethernet adapter. No, you are using it to connect to the modem.
    4. Router's Dhcp server is disabled. Probably not--but try this. Reset the router to factory settings by holding the reset button down (recessed, round hole beside antenna). Try connecting again.
    5. Bad router. Get it replaced.
    6. Anybody else have ideas?
     
  13. depiction

    depiction Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Both of the ethernet cables work ok. I connected each one from the modem to my computer and am able to get the internet as I used to.

    I tried reseting the router, but that didn't solve anything.
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you've reset the router to factory defaults, and all the other parts are working, I'd have to suspect a problem with the router. It should at least get an IP address from the router at that point.

    If you haven't reset the router to factory defaults, that's what I'd try next.
     
  15. Soundchick

    Soundchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    He said he has a Netgear adapter? In the screenshot it says Linksys...or am I reading it wrong?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/466288