Solved: Computer Fails to Boot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jack-o-bytes

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
I have recently acquired a fairly old computer (2006 ish) This is the current problem,

I plug it in and press the power button. The fans all come on but then it shuts down in about 6 seconds. If I then try and turn it on again nothing happens. I then unplug the power cable and leave it for about 10 seconds and then plug it in and turn it on it will then stay on for around 2 seconds and go back off again.

Could this be a power supply or overheating problem do you think? If not has any one got any idea what it could be?

Thanks Jack-O-Bytes
 

jack-o-bytes

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
I am not 100% sure of specs as I have been given this computer and it won't boot for me to find out.

This is what I can identify

Motherboard: Foxconn 661M08-FX
RAM: 2GB PC3200 RAM
Onboard Graphics
PSU: Winpower 450w
CPU: Unknown
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Well the power supply could be suspect, the one you listed is a low quality unit. If you have a spare or at least another power supply you could easily test that theory.
 

jack-o-bytes

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
Yeah, I am going to do that later I am going out now though so I will report back when I have tried a different PSU. thanks.
 

jack-o-bytes

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
Yeah the PSU was the problem I have changed it with one out of my other computer and it has booted up fine. Do you think it could have been a motherboard problem that caused it to die so quickly. The PSU isn't powering anything spectacular only a P4 2.8GHz and 2GB of 400MHz ram.
 

jack-o-bytes

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
OK cool thanks. It is running great with a new PSU in it. The one I have got in it isn't exactly high quality though it is a 500w Dragon PSU that has been running my computer for about 2 years now. Voltages are pretty much perfect though. Thanks again. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top