1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer freezes and system restore not working!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Tazsp1, Sep 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tazsp1

    Tazsp1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    This problem has just started in the last few days.When I try to install windows vista security updates my computer freezes every time.I uninstalled SpyBot SD incase it was conflicting with Kaspersky IS 2011 but no joy.To make things worse I have tried numerous times to use System restore and the computer freezes. I have run system scans from Kaspersky 2011 and windows defender and they haven't found any viruses etc.My computer is vunerable if I can't install security updates for windows.I can use the internet ok and all other programs seem to be working ok.Has anyone come across this problem before:confused:
    Here is a HJT log in a hope someone can see the problem ::)

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 17:20:52, on 16/09/2010
    Platform: Windows Vista SP2 (WinNT 6.00.1906)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18943)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
    C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPStart.exe
    C:\Program Files\Launch Manager\QtZgAcer.EXE
    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eAudio\eAudio.exe
    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\x86\eDSLoader.exe
    C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\avp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\IAAnotif.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\MOM.EXE
    C:\Windows\RtHDVCpl.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe
    C:\Users\Taz\AppData\Local\Lexar Media\LxrAutorun.exe
    C:\Windows\ehome\ehtray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe
    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\ENET\ENMTRAY.EXE
    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\EPOWER\EPOWER_DMC.EXE
    C:\Windows\ehome\ehmsas.exe
    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\ACER.EMPOWERING.FRAMEWORK.SUPERVISOR.EXE
    C:\Users\Taz\AppData\Local\Temp\RtkBtMnt.exe
    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eRecovery\ERAGENT.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CCC.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\klwtblfs.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\Macromed\Flash\FlashUtil10i_ActiveX.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://unique.easysearch.org.uk/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://en.uk.acer.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://en.uk.acer.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = *.local
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
    O2 - BHO: &Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: WormRadar.com IESiteBlocker.NavFilter - {3CA2F312-6F6E-4B53-A66E-4E65E497C8C0} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: IEVkbdBHO - {59273AB4-E7D3-40F9-A1A8-6FA9CCA1862C} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\ievkbd.dll
    O2 - BHO: link filter bho - {E33CF602-D945-461A-83F0-819F76A199F8} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\klwtbbho.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Acer eDataSecurity Management - {5CBE3B7C-1E47-477e-A7DD-396DB0476E29} - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\x86\eDStoolbar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Defender] "C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe" -hide
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPStart] "C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPStart.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LManager] "C:\PROGRA~1\LAUNCH~1\QtZgAcer.EXE"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [eAudio] "C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eAudio\eAudio.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [eDataSecurity Loader] "C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\x86\eDSloader.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVP] "C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\avp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IAAnotif] "C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\iaanotif.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WarReg_PopUp] "C:\Program Files\Acer\WR_PopUp\WarReg_PopUp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RtHDVCpl] "C:\Windows\RtHDVCpl.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PLFSet] "C:\Windows\system32\rundll32.exe" C:\Windows\PLFSet.dll,PLFDefSetting
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvSvc] "C:\Windows\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE" C:\Windows\system32\nvsvc.dll,nvsvcStart
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] "C:\Windows\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE" C:\Windows\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Sidebar] "C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe" /autoRun
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [LxrAutorun] "C:\Users\Taz\AppData\Local\Lexar Media\LxrAutorun.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ehTray.exe] C:\Windows\ehome\ehTray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpybotSD TeaTimer] C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - Global Startup: Empowering Technology Launcher.lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: SETAUDIO.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: SETRES.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Anti-Banner - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\ie_banner_deny.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: Send to OneNote - {2670000A-7350-4f3c-8081-5663EE0C6C49} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\ONBttnIE.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: S&end to OneNote - {2670000A-7350-4f3c-8081-5663EE0C6C49} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\ONBttnIE.dll
    O9 - Extra button: &Virtual Keyboard - {4248FE82-7FCB-46AC-B270-339F08212110} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\klwtbbho.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: URLs c&heck - {CCF151D8-D089-449F-A5A4-D9909053F20F} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\klwtbbho.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search && Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
    O13 - Gopher Prefix:
    O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} - http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\PROGRA~1\KASPER~1\KASPER~2\mzvkbd3.dll,C:\PROGRA~1\KASPER~1\KASPER~2\kloehk.dll
    O23 - Service: ALaunch Service (ALaunchService) - Unknown owner - C:\Acer\ALaunch\ALaunchSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Apple Mobile Device - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
    O23 - Service: Ati External Event Utility - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: Kaspersky Anti-Virus Service (AVP) - Kaspersky Lab ZAO - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\avp.exe
    O23 - Service: Bonjour Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe
    O23 - Service: eDataSecurity Service - Egis Incorporated - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\x86\eDSService.exe
    O23 - Service: eLock Service (eLockService) - Acer Inc. - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eLock\Service\eLockServ.exe
    O23 - Service: eNet Service - Acer Inc. - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eNet\eNet Service.exe
    O23 - Service: eRecovery Service (eRecoveryService) - Acer Inc. - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eRecovery\eRecoveryService.exe
    O23 - Service: eSettings Service (eSettingsService) - Unknown owner - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eSettings\Service\capuserv.exe
    O23 - Service: IntelĀ® PROSet/Wireless Event Log (EvtEng) - Intel(R) Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\WiFi\bin\EvtEng.exe
    O23 - Service: Intel(R) Matrix Storage Event Monitor (IAANTMON) - Intel Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\IAANTMon.exe
    O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: LightScribeService Direct Disc Labeling Service (LightScribeService) - Hewlett-Packard Company - C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Lexar Secure II (LxrSII1s) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\LxrSII1s.exe
    O23 - Service: MobilityService - Unknown owner - C:\Acer\Mobility Center\MobilityService.exe
    O23 - Service: IntelĀ® PROSet/Wireless Registry Service (RegSrvc) - Intel(R) Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Intel\WirelessCommon\RegSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Cyberlink RichVideo Service(CRVS) (RichVideo) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared Files\RichVideo.exe
    O23 - Service: Syntek STK1150 Service (StkASSrv) - Syntek America Inc. - C:\Windows\System32\StkASv2K.exe
    O23 - Service: ePower Service (WMIService) - acer - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\ePower\ePowerSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: XAudioService - Conexant Systems, Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\xaudio.exe

    --
    End of file - 9742 bytes
    THANK YOU in advance.
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Have you tried Windows Update in Safe Mode with Networking?
     
  3. Tazsp1

    Tazsp1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Phantom for gettin back to me. I have just tried to do a windows update in SAFE MODE WITH NETWORKING and it states'Windows updates cannot currently check for updates because the service is not running.You may need to restart your computer' Does that mean my windows update system is corrupt?
    I also went into system restore and my computer froze in safemode.NOT good eh! :( By going into safemode I take it Kaspersky IS was not running? Is that right? Just asking because I was thinking of uninstalling it to try and eliminate the problem but if it was not running anyway in safe mode there is now no need to uninstall.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    I was afraid of that. I wasn't sure the service would be running in Safe Mode.

    Try a System Restore in Safe Mode. It's supposed to run.
     
  5. TekBonkerz

    TekBonkerz

    Joined:
    May 12, 1999
    Messages:
    173

    Hewo :O)

    Reinstall FlashPlayer http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/ Then restart PC.

    Now open taskmanager and END TASK these, DONT REBOOT... then try windows update


    Reinstall Flash should take care of this .. but if still shows then END task it.
    C:\Windows\system32\Macromed\Flash\FlashUtil10i_ActiveX.exe

    Disable sidebar or END task it.
    C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe


    If you can right click on the Acer icon and Quit these Acer apps then cool .. if not then END task them.

    C:\Program Files\Launch Manager\QtZgAcer.EXE

    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\ENET\ENMTRAY.EXE

    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\EPOWER\EPOWER_DMC.EXE

    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eRecovery\ERAGENT.EXE

    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\ACER.EMPOWERING.FRAMEWORK.SUPERVISOR.EXE

    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eAudio\eAudio.exe

    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\x86\eDSLoader.exe


    ATI Control Panel used if you change your display settings alot
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CCC.exe

    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\MOM.EXE


    C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe


    RealTekAudio
    C:\Users\Taz\AppData\Local\Temp\RtkBtMnt.exe

    C:\Windows\RtHDVCpl.exe

    C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\avp.exe

    C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2011\klwtblfs.exe

    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe



    Keep in mind you are just END tasking these things THEY WILL reload when you restart windows. You should really look into stopping most of these of loading at Windows Startup. like the ATI and RealTech thingys.. they are resource hogs.

    If your pc stops werking at any moment while your END tasking these.. then just reboot and SKIP the one that caused the problem ---GOOD LUCK---
     
  6. DaveDoesIT

    DaveDoesIT

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    309
    That should be correct, only the bare minimum of drivers required to run Safe Mode are loaded. You can check the list as it is loading Safe Mode though.

    You have a bunch of conflicting stuff loaded on that PC. Little wonder Update is having problems. Try not to duplicate functions. Have one anti-virus, one anti-malware etc.

    Dave
     
  7. Tazsp1

    Tazsp1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Guys for your replies. I am a real novice in computers so forgive me if any of my q's sound stupid! What is the best way to end tasks? I did a ctrl alt del and went into task manager.When I tried ending processes it kept scrolling up and I found it hard to hi-light the options to end.Is there another way of ending all the tasks mentioned in your posts?
    I tried to install updates again NO joy!Computer froze again.When it comes up with 'preparing to install' and creating a restore point the computer freezes. I can't restore my computer to previous dates as it crashes when I try.Not being able to install updates seems to be linked to system restore as it tries to create a restore point everytime before installation. Maybe this is linked somewhere....The other day I did a registery clean up with CCleaner.Could that have corrupted anything?Just a thought! Thanks.;)
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    What about System Restore in Safe Mode?
     
  9. DaveDoesIT

    DaveDoesIT

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    309
    Registry cleaners are a big NO-NO! Too late so let's get on with it.

    Do not try and do any more updates. You have to get the operating system stable before you do anything.

    Turn the computer off and wait 30 seconds. Turn it on and start tapping the F8 key until the Boot Options menu opens up. Look down that list and select "Last known good system (advanced)" and run that.

    Let us know what happens. Please do not try anything else until you have reported back here with the latest results.

    Dave
     
  10. Tazsp1

    Tazsp1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Hi Phantom

    I tried to run system restore in safe mode and it still keeps freezing/crashing! :(
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    How to start System Restore by using the Command prompt:

    To start System Restore using the Command prompt, follow these steps:

    1. Restart your computer, and then press and hold F8 during the initial startup to start your computer in Safe Mode with a Command Prompt.

    2. Use the arrow keys to select the Safe mode with a Command Prompt option.

    3. If you are prompted to select an operating system, use the arrow keys to select the appropriate operating system for your computer, and then press ENTER.

    4. Log on as an administrator or with an account that has administrator credentials.

    5. At the command prompt, type %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe, and then press ENTER.

    6. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen to restore your computer to a functional state.

     
  12. Tazsp1

    Tazsp1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Hi Dave
    I have just followed your instructions and when I clicked the system restore it froze again! ?????????

    Phantom

    I will get back to you in a few minutes with an update.Thanks. Wait out.;)
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    You might want to try a chkdsk.
     
  14. Tazsp1

    Tazsp1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Hi Phantom
    Just tried safe mode with cmd prompt 3 times and each time it comes up with not recognised as an internal or external command,operable program or batch file.Is it a computer prob or am I doing something not quite right?
    I just read up on chkdsk and apparently it can take hours /days to complete is this true? and you shouldn't stop it once it starts?
     
  15. DaveDoesIT

    DaveDoesIT

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    309
    If you can't get to the Command prompt to run ChkDsk then find out what brand of hard drive it is. Go to that manufacturer's website and download their diagnostics. Most (all?) of them have a DOS .ISO file you can burn to a CD and boot from that.

    That will be a better low-level check than ChkDsk can do.

    Dave
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/950432