1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer not starting - tried everything

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by CGS84, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CGS84

CGS84 Thread Starter

Hi there,

This morning my computer does not want to start. Usually I just need to turn on the UPS switch 30 minutes before trying to start, but this time it did not work.

I have searched for all power supply problems here on the forum and even tried that green and black cable crossing to test if the fan will work, well, it works but does that mean that the power supply is still ok?

I don't have another desktop to test the power supply by exchanging. I am a beginner and don't know what brand/specs my mother board is. All i know is that:

harddrives: 3 harddrives of more than 40GB each i think
    graphics card: fairly new

1.) When I press the ON button, it just won't light up anything or make anything move. No sounds.

2.) The bad part is that the power supply smells like burned cable or something but when I opened it, nothing looks burned.

could someone help? I read something about a power on pin that needs to be shorted.. where do I find on the mother boar, what does it look like?

The computer has had some trouble starting in the past but I usually got it to start somehow. This time it just won't start :((. Nothing I did worked.

It's a work computer and I need it.

Please help.

Thanks!

2. DeLorean

DeLorean

The power on pin is where the case/chassis plugs into the motherboard, their should be a bunch of brightly coloured wires from the case to the motherboard that connect the on switch, reset switch and the power and harddisk LED's.