1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer randomly shuts down and fails to restart.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Nisp, Jul 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    If the CPU needed thermal paste I would think the temps would be a lot higher on the CPU...I really do not trust the voltage readings unless they are way out. and fans could be the program just can not read it.

    How old is the Powersupply?
     
  2. Nisp

    Nisp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Hmm the computer should be around 3 years old. The only hardware ive ever changed or modified is adding the Geforce 8400. I also have a bad habit of leaving it on standby and not quite turning it off all the way if that helps.
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,685
    The only thing I see that is strange in hwmonitor is your 3.3V reading however it is probably a problem with the app reading the sensor correctly rather than your voltage really being that low.

    If you can check your voltages in the bios, then do so. The bios is more reliable than any software app.
     
  4. Nisp

    Nisp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I checked the BIOS and posted my voltages in an earlier post. I had noticed that none of them fluctuated except for the 3.3v reading, i'm not sure if that is normal however. I'm starting to lean towards maybe getting a new motherboard or power supply not sure if that is a good idea or not though.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,685
    If you see either the 3.3V, 5V or 12V values fluctuating in the bios, that indicates a pw supply problem. Some voltages are supposed to go up and down such as vcore or cpu voltage however not the ones listed above.
     
  6. Nisp

    Nisp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Really great thanks do you think getting a new power supply would be a wise investment? I'm starting to run out of ideas :)
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,685
    It cannot hurt to install a quality pw supply. For the system you list, a corsair builder series would work ok. This one is $49 after MIR. Note the builder series is ok for a basic build however I would not use one with a high end video card ie nvidia 570 or ati 6870, etc.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139027
     
  8. Ryuzaki

    Ryuzaki

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Hi,I had the same problem with my pc and I bought a new power supply so now it works fine with no problems.
     
  9. Nisp

    Nisp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks for all the help guys I bought a new power supply and it seems to have been fixed!
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,685
    Good work. I wish they were all this easy to fix from afar (y)(y)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059694