1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer restarts by itself repeatedly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by pearson1943, Apr 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pearson1943

    pearson1943 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    My computer restarts by itself repeatedly.I don't know whether it's the cpu or the motherboard.Or if it's a software problem.
    I have a laptop,Versa Pro,Korean made with 32 bits.
    Can you please help me solve the problem?
    Thank you,
    John Pearson!
     
  2. kanaitpro

    kanaitpro Account Closed

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    493
    a lot of times it is due to heat. do you have any sort of temperature software? you should have a widget if i am not mistaken. if it isn't the temperature, i recall memory problems causing restarts. in a laptop, i suspect heat,. can you hear the fan running? sometimes they overheat and damage the cpu if they have been sitting on a fabric covering the air holes for extended periods.
     
  3. Frost_WD

    Frost_WD Western Digital Representative

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Hi pearson1943,


    Just like @kanaitpro I would also suspect heat as a cause for your troubles. You can clean the system from dust build up (or if you do not feel comfortable with doing it yourself, take it to a technician).


    Another thing to do would be to run a brand specific diagnostics tool on the hard drive. There are other third-party tools, however, the once from the manufacturer usually provide the most accurate result as they know the drive's frimware best, as they are developed to specifically test such drives. You can post a screenshot of the SMART status here.


    If the HDD comes clean and the problem is not caused by heat I would suspect your motherboard as the troublemaker, however, let us get the two most likely suspects out of the way.


    P.S. Taking a look in “Windows even viewer” might provide some information, as the problem could caused by software.


    Keep me posted,
    Frost_WD
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,598
    pearson1943, we are still waiting on the MGA from your past thread:

    Please run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:
    • Download MGADiag to your desktop.
    • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
    • Click "Continue"
    • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
    • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.

    thanks,

    v
     
  5. pearson1943

    pearson1943 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Actually,I'm not concerned with my lap top for now.I bought a new desk top computer.With windows 8.1 and 64 bit.I'll go back to the lap top later.
    Now,my concern is,I'm trying to create a re-installation cd in case I have to re-install windows.Can you tell me how to do that?
    Thank you,
    John Pearson!
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,598
    Without the MGA, no, we cannot. Can you not post it?
     
  7. pearson1943

    pearson1943 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    I downloaded the mgadia,but,I couldn't copy it.
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,598
    what error are you getting? We will not be able to continue to work on this computer without it.

    thanks,

    v
     
  9. pearson1943

    pearson1943 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    The error message is,failed to create output files,hr=0x80070002

    Please contact support!
     
  10. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,598
    no, what error are you getting trying to run the MGA?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146478

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice