1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: computer screen not getting signal

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by zetta55, Dec 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zetta55

    zetta55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hello i have a problem whit my pc, i just purchased new Ram new power supply and new mother board
    everything is compatible

    my Specs

    cpu:
    intel core 2 quad 775

    ram:
    Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148543

    Mother board:
    G41M-VS3 R2.0
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/G41M-VS3 R2.0/


    video card:
    GeForce GTX 460

    Power supply:
    Thermaltake TR-600 TR2 ATX12V & EPS12V 600W Computer Power Supply
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153140


    the problem is that wen i turn it on it turns on normally but does not give signal to the monitor i re-seated all the parts including the cpu. but does not give signal to the monitor. i do not hear any beeps from the motherboard or anything
    [i don't think it has a speaker anyways] and also my Video card's fan does not Spin


    things i tried:
    re-seating
    tried each ram slot and ram
    plugged it in to the integrated board graphics
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    set it up out of the case on a piece of cardboard with
    cpu
    video
    ram
    speaker
    and see if you get post
    check you have the correct amount of standoffs no more no less
    that they line up with the holes in the m/board
    usually 9
     
  3. zetta55

    zetta55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    forgotten to put the standoff's
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    so your up and running now
     
  5. zetta55

    zetta55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    no i have not found them i need to find them lol
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    they can be included in the m/board box or the case when you buy them

    what case do you have
     
  7. zetta55

    zetta55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    thank you for the help it was the standoff's
     
  8. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    glad you have it sorted
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082788

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice