1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer Shuts Down Repeatedly

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by yourmomchoselife, Jan 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8119 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5450, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 938828 MB, Free - 580455 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0T568R
    Antivirus: PC Cleaner Pro, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled

    My computer repeatedly shuts down on me. Yesterday it must have shut down on me 20 times. My virus and malware scans come out clean. It usually goes to a menu asking me if I want to start the computer normally or in safe mode. However sometimes, I have to run start-up repair and sometimes I get a blue screen. The problem is the blue screen doesn't stay up long enough for me to write down error codes or anything else it says. I have had this computer for not quite 3 years yet. If something doesn't change I will have to get a new. Thanks for any help, I appreciate it.
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    Welcome to TSG yourmomchoselife!

    Please go to C:\Windows and look for a folder called minidump. Copy the folder to the desktop, compress it and upload it here. If you don't have a compression utility, 7-Zip is a good one.

    To upload click Go Advanced, scroll down to Manage Attachments, click Browse and go to the compressed folder, select it and click Upload.
     
  3. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    OK. I think I did that right.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    OK! Lets start by opening the run command (Windows key + R) type chkdsk /f and hit enter. It'll say that it can't run and would you like it to run on the next reboot, say yes. Restart the system and let it run. Let us know if it finds errors.

    After that is completed open the run command again and type sfc /scannow click OK and let it run.

    I noted that you don't have service pack 1 installed Download SP1 Select the DVD ISO the one at the top of the list. It's 1.9 gig. You'll need to burn it to DVD so download ImageBurn and use it to burn the ISO to DVD. Run the DVD and start the install.
     
  5. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    I got a message that said "Windows cannot find chkdsk/f.
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    that is because you missed the space after the k

    just paste it in

    chkdsk /f
     
  7. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    That just brought up search results. Is this a regular disk check we are talking about? I've already run several of those by clicking on computer then hard disk drives and then properties and then going to the "tools tab". I ran that more than once and it showed no errors.
     
  8. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    it just checks the files it is the same as the tools tab

    to check the actual disk

    d/load and run the h/drive makers diagnostic utility on the h/drive

    http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

    turn off the auto reboot
    control panel /system/advanced/startup and recovery settings
    then untick the auto reboot box
    post any bsod error messages the computer freezes on in full

    what power supply

    make
    model
    wattage

    what does the bios list for the 12v line voltages and cpu temp
     
  9. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Which one of those diagnostics tools am I supposed to download. Sorry, I don't know much about computers. Where do I type d/load? In the run box? If so, I tried that it didn't work.
     
  10. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    It just shut down on me again. This time I got a blue screen that said "Page Fault in Non-Page Area". That's all I had time to read before the blue screen went away. Does that tell you anything?
     
  11. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    what hard drive do you have in it

    boot into safe mode and see if it still blue screens

    to download you click on the link you see on screen
     
  12. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    I have the hard drive that the computer came with when I bought it. That's all I know about it.
     
  13. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  14. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    Lets take a look at the dump file. Please upload it. C:\Windows\minidump Make sure and check the date on the file that it the latest one.
     
  15. yourmomchoselife

    yourmomchoselife Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    I ran Speccy. For hard drive it says: 932 GB Seagate ST31000528AS (RAID) 31 degrees C
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084007

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice