Solved: Computer Shuts Down Repeatedly

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

yourmomchoselife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
28
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 8119 Mb
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5450, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 938828 MB, Free - 580455 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0T568R
Antivirus: PC Cleaner Pro, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled

My computer repeatedly shuts down on me. Yesterday it must have shut down on me 20 times. My virus and malware scans come out clean. It usually goes to a menu asking me if I want to start the computer normally or in safe mode. However sometimes, I have to run start-up repair and sometimes I get a blue screen. The problem is the blue screen doesn't stay up long enough for me to write down error codes or anything else it says. I have had this computer for not quite 3 years yet. If something doesn't change I will have to get a new. Thanks for any help, I appreciate it.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,620
Welcome to TSG yourmomchoselife!

Please go to C:\Windows and look for a folder called minidump. Copy the folder to the desktop, compress it and upload it here. If you don't have a compression utility, 7-Zip is a good one.

To upload click Go Advanced, scroll down to Manage Attachments, click Browse and go to the compressed folder, select it and click Upload.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,620
OK! Lets start by opening the run command (Windows key + R) type chkdsk /f and hit enter. It'll say that it can't run and would you like it to run on the next reboot, say yes. Restart the system and let it run. Let us know if it finds errors.

After that is completed open the run command again and type sfc /scannow click OK and let it run.

I noted that you don't have service pack 1 installed Download SP1 Select the DVD ISO the one at the top of the list. It's 1.9 gig. You'll need to burn it to DVD so download ImageBurn and use it to burn the ISO to DVD. Run the DVD and start the install.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
that is because you missed the space after the k

just paste it in

chkdsk /f
 

yourmomchoselife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
28
That just brought up search results. Is this a regular disk check we are talking about? I've already run several of those by clicking on computer then hard disk drives and then properties and then going to the "tools tab". I ran that more than once and it showed no errors.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
it just checks the files it is the same as the tools tab

to check the actual disk

d/load and run the h/drive makers diagnostic utility on the h/drive

http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

turn off the auto reboot
control panel /system/advanced/startup and recovery settings
then untick the auto reboot box
post any bsod error messages the computer freezes on in full

what power supply

make
model
wattage

what does the bios list for the 12v line voltages and cpu temp
 

yourmomchoselife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
28
Which one of those diagnostics tools am I supposed to download. Sorry, I don't know much about computers. Where do I type d/load? In the run box? If so, I tried that it didn't work.
 

yourmomchoselife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
28
It just shut down on me again. This time I got a blue screen that said "Page Fault in Non-Page Area". That's all I had time to read before the blue screen went away. Does that tell you anything?
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
what hard drive do you have in it

boot into safe mode and see if it still blue screens

to download you click on the link you see on screen
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,620
It just shut down on me again. This time I got a blue screen that said "Page Fault in Non-Page Area". That's all I had time to read before the blue screen went away. Does that tell you anything?
Lets take a look at the dump file. Please upload it. C:\Windows\minidump Make sure and check the date on the file that it the latest one.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top