Solved: Computer SLOW after update

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

New Rain

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
95
When I turned off my computer on Tuesday, it was going to install updates. Ever since then it's been terribly slow. Pages take around a minute to open, and when 2 web pages are open, that seems to be the limit, unless I give up too soon, as to what can be opened online.I've never had any problems with this computer and suddenly, it's a huge pain to get the internet to load pages.

I've read one article about "Tuesday updates" messing up computers, but it had dire warnings about following those instructions unless you are 10,000% sure your problem came from a Tuesday update. I don't know where the problem came from, but it was after a Tuesday update.

TSG Sys Info:
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 330 @ 2.13GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3894 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator HD, 1723 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 291458 MB, Free - 233217 MB; D: Total - 13481 MB, Free - 2227 MB; E: Total - 99 MB, Free - 95 MB;
Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 3658
Antivirus: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Updated and Enabled
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
Is it slow only in respect of the internet connection - or is it slow to load windows and slow to open programs or applications
 

New Rain

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
95
Mostly just internet. The first time I turned the computer on after the updates, it was slow to start up, but every time since then, it has started up fine, and actually goes to Chrome quickly, but once I see I'm online, it takes a long time for the pages to load. Not sure if that made sense - Chrome opens about the same as before, but individual pages are slow.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
How are you connected please wireless or hard wired
If wireless and you can - try hard wired


If it is already hard wired or you cannot try that


Use IE and see how that performs


It could be that an update from windows or indeed McAfee has effected the performance of Chrome
 

New Rain

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
95
No, it isn't wireless - is TWC modum. I will try IE, but hope I don't have to use it. I hate it. Hope it can be fixed with Chrome!
 

New Rain

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
95
Although I've heard of browsing in Safe Mode, I don't know what it is. My computer knowledge is not going to be on the level of anyone who replies to this thread. Sorry. If you have patience to tell me, I'll see what I can do.
 

New Rain

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
95
Also, the little icon at the front of the tab of each page keeps turning as the circle, usually for a few minutes or longer after I've opened the page.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,587
Take your time - do not worry about your lack of knowledge - we are here to help and all of us started on the bottom rung of the ladder.


Phantom010
Good evening - you have to be quick these days - on here.
I was just replying to another one of the four I am currently working on.




New Rain
Phantom010 and I are good working colleagues - just so you do not misinterpret my comment to him.
I am sure one or both of us will find out what the problem is
 

New Rain

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
95
OK - I'm in Safe Mode now. So what is the question, exactly? It does seem faster - maybe not as fast as it was before the problem, but close to it.

And thanks for the kind words. I hate to slow people down who are trying to help me because of my lack of knowledge.
 

New Rain

Thread Starter
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
95
Just got McAfee message that Real time scanning is off. Is that because of Safe Mode?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top