1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer will not turn on

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by chuckwheat, Jul 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chuckwheat

    chuckwheat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    My wife has a Compaq Presario V5000 running Windows XP Home. It will not turn on.

    Here is the sequence of events as relayed to me:

    My granddaughter (age 6) was playing on the computer;

    She tried to download a game;

    The Norton Anti-virus popped on with a warning;

    She went ahead and tried to download it anyway;

    It did not load but a virus may have downloaded;

    When my wife tried to the computer back on, it turned on for a minute or so then shut itself off and would not turn back on;

    I have tried to restart it with both the power cord and the battery, battery alone, and power alone... nothing!

    If I could get it back on, I could reset a restore point, or even reload the whole system.

    Do you know if there is a reset button or some other way to get it turned on?

    Thanks,

    Charlie
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr José Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,524
    Hi and welcome.

    Have you tried restarting in Safe Mode?

    Restart your computer and as soon as it starts booting up again continuously tap F8. A menu should come up where you will be given the option to enter Safe Mode.
     
  3. chuckwheat

    chuckwheat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I can't start it in any mode as it won't turn on at all... grrr
     
  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr José Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,524
    Explain in details what happens during startup or if there is an error message.


    Also, is there an option to enter the Recovery Console at startup just after the BIOS self test (Compaq logo) ?
     
  5. chuckwheat

    chuckwheat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    There is a button which you press to turn on the machine. When this button is pressed, nothing happens, It will not turn on.
     
  6. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr José Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,524
    If you turn the computer On and not even the Compaq logo is displayed on screen, then there must be something wrong with the Power Supply Unit or your motherboard. The computer must do a Power On Self Test (POST) before the operating system can be loaded. It is apparent that the computer is failing to do so.

    When you turn turn On the computer. Check if the Power Supply Unit's fan goes On
     
  7. chuckwheat

    chuckwheat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    In the middle of the "power on" button, there is a light which activates when pressed. When the button is pressed, the light does not come on. Therefore it never gets to the POST.
     
  8. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr José Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,524
    I hate to say this, but it is definitely due to lack of Power. You will need to take the computer to the nearest service center for repair.
     
  9. chuckwheat

    chuckwheat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, that is my thinking also. The two events seem to be unrelated and it is just coincidence that they happened at the same time. BTW... I did go to the Compaq web site for info on this and there is nothing there either. Many thanks for your help.
     
  10. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr José Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,524
    Anytime. (y)
     
  11. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    for future reference compaq computers are owned by hewlett-packard. so if u ever need info on your computer go to the website for any updates , drivers, etc. i know i had a compaq presario 5200. no offense but of all of the computers ive owned that one was the worst hands down.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/602802