1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer won't boot properly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Elite_Predator, Nov 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Elite_Predator

    Elite_Predator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    I turned off the computer by pressing the power button (2nd time on the computer). When I tried turning it back on, the screen never loaded past the Dell logo. Strange thing is that the keyboard doesn't respond when I try hitting F11 or F3 (if I remember correctly) and there is no difference whether or not it is plugged in.

    Right now I fear that the HDD is corrupt, but I want to see if there is something I can do instead of having it fixed/replaced.

    I probably should mention that a certain sound is not made when I try to turn on the computer now.
     
  2. olryst

    olryst

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Try pressing f1 or delete key to get in to bios and run default settings.

    Try reseting cmos (bios) with motherboard jumper/removing battery.
     
  3. Elite_Predator

    Elite_Predator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thing is, I don't think the keyboard is even receiving power from the comp.

    Also, I don't quite understand what you mean by "Try reseting cmos (bios) with motherboard jumper/removing battery."? Explain?
     
  4. olryst

    olryst

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    If you open the case and look on the motherboard you will see a small round battey.

    There should be a small jumper near it to, with 3 pins, the jumper will be covering two of them.
     
  5. Elite_Predator

    Elite_Predator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    I fixed the problem.

    What I have done is remove the RAM cards, dusted them a bit then re-inserted them (read this from somewhere else). What I don't get is how by turning of the computer by pressing the power button can cause a problem with the RAM.

    Although I do appreciate the help. I may keep what you said in mind in the future should what I did doesn't work by then.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025695

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice