1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer won't recognize WRT54G v2 wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Adrenelite, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Adrenelite

    Adrenelite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi guys, first time poster here, long time reader. I apologize if this question has been asked before, but I looked almost everywhere (over the internet) for an answer to my problem with no positive results.

    I have a WRT54G v2 Linksys wireless router that was working fine about a year ago when I used it last, however I tried just recently using it again (since my D-Link router completely fried on me) and for some reason, my computer won't recognize it's default gateway IP. I've tried numerous options including the Linksys quick install manual, several reboots, disabling firewalls and anti-virus software, manually setting a default gateway to 192.168.1.1, connecting it to a friend's pc with no connectivity, using about 5 different ethernet cables, and so forth. I'm almost certain that the router may have simply died on me.

    The thing I don't understand, is that all the lights for connections on it work fine, the power led doesn't blink at all, and the reset button still seems to work. My pc just doesn't seem to recognize the default gateway on the router, preventing me from accessing the web admin (which also means I can't flash firmware, I'm thinking) or connecting to the internet.

    I'm really at a loss here, I hope someone can help me out as to why I can't connect to the router or how I can fix it.
     
  2. Adrenelite

    Adrenelite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Nevermind guys, sorry bout that, I just figured out the problem and solved it. I used a laptop with a wireless connection to access web admin without any problems and I was able to flash the firmware and now all hardwire connections work perfectly! Best regards to anyone else with this problem in the future, and that hopefully this can help.
     
  3. Sequal7

    Sequal7

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,382
    You said the reset button on the rear of the router works? My question is how would you know that it works, if you can't connect to it?

    Reset your computers IP to automatic and try a manual reset.
    Insert a pin into the reset hole and hold the pin down for a 30 seconds. Once you have done that, try to connect to the router again. (you may need to repair the connection again to get it to work)

    You also said you have tried it on a friends computer and it wont connect , suspect there is a good chance it is as you stated...Dead.

    EDIT, glad you got it figured out.
     
  4. Adrenelite

    Adrenelite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hey Sequal thanks for your response to my thread

    I just wanted to let you know, that the power led and all other lights on the front of the router would flash once I pressed the reset button, so I only assumed that it still worked.

    But yeah I got it fixed, just figured I'd reply to your question, for any future troubleshooters. Thanks for the help.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702243