1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Computer won't turn on when jumper port is plugged in?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JoshtheNoob, May 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JoshtheNoob

JoshtheNoob Thread Starter

I'm using a custom built computer i bought off of craigslist in good condition. Has 32 Bit XP OS.

So my problem is, i have to keep the cable that plugs into the jump port( I MAY or may not be correct) unplugged, otherwise it wont even strart up, when i unplug it, it starts the fans and CPU, But says like No boots disk detected. Im fairly new to computers in terms of hardware, but this happened when i moved it out of my room so i could get my carpets cleaned, could moving it had done something? i don't think my HDD is fried, but that could be the case.

Ill keep checking this thread through out the rest of the night until if you need anymore information

2. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

Exactly what do you mean by a "jump port"? Can you provide a picture of this port and the cable?

3. Windows4life

Windows4life

at above

Id assume he means a USB Port
    Some people call USB Drives Jump Drives or Flash Drives.

4. JoshtheNoob

[​IMG]

Whenever i plug in the cord into the four prong "Jumper Pins", it shuts down.

5. win2kpro

win2kpro

There is no cord that plugs into the jumpers. The jumpers set the drive as master, slave or cable select by moving the jumper cap.

6. JoshtheNoob

Then i must be plugging in something wrong, because i have a cord that plugs into both of my HHD's, at the jumper pins.

Now to the part of, no Disk entered? does that mean my Hard drive is fried?

7. prunejuice

prunejuice

You shouldn't be plugging in drives on a running machine.

8. win2kpro

win2kpro