Solved: Conditional Formatting for numbers and text

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

reporter1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
43
Hi,
I'm a first time TechGuy user so here's my question. I have a column of data which contains cells with numbers and cells with text (not both together). I'm using conditional formatting to change the cells that contain numbers which meet certain criteria to red font. My problem is, how do I keep the text from changing color. I want the conditional formatting to ignore the cells containing text so they remain in black font. I don't know VBA language - I'm not that advanced. Appreciate anyone who can help me with this.
Thanks,
reporter1
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
2,255
Use
Cell value is Between 0 100000 (use your values)

That is assuming you can specify the lower and upper value.

That way the text will remain black.
 

reporter1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
43
Here's a sample from the column. I formatted numbers in the Total ACW column which are >=25.5 to appear in red font. I want the LVE to remain black but it changes to red when I format the column. The example doesn't show it but the LVE all turn to red font when I add the conditional format.


IATT IAHLD Total ACW
349 14 26
250 66 19
260 72 33
314 92 20
282 54 0
334 47 27
351 59 22
258 88 20
313 47 7
272 56 25
210 42 0
204 21 24
LVE LVE LVE
288 35 16
273 48 23
338 69 0
248 91 9
281 57 27
LVE LVE LVE
343 54 8

Thanks,
 

reporter1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
43
Yes, just the ACW column. The ACW numbers >=25.5 turn red with the conditional format but so do all the LVE in the same column.
 

reporter1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
43
There are various text cells in the column so not all texts are the same.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
2,255
Do you know the highest limit.

If you do set the lowest 25.5 and highest limit and use the between command.

As I said, it will not colour the text then
 

reporter1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
43
To The Villan,

You're right! Thanks so much for the tip - it will save me alot of time in a few of my reports. I still can't figure out why the conditional formatting affects the text, but as long as this works I'm happy. You're no 'Villan' to me!!
 

reporter1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
43
Thanks to both of you - gamecockfan and Villan for helping me on this. I appreciate your being so generous with your time.
reporter1
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top