1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Conditional Formatting for numbers and text

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by reporter1, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reporter1

    reporter1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Hi,
    I'm a first time TechGuy user so here's my question. I have a column of data which contains cells with numbers and cells with text (not both together). I'm using conditional formatting to change the cells that contain numbers which meet certain criteria to red font. My problem is, how do I keep the text from changing color. I want the conditional formatting to ignore the cells containing text so they remain in black font. I don't know VBA language - I'm not that advanced. Appreciate anyone who can help me with this.
    Thanks,
    reporter1
     
  2. computerman29642

    computerman29642

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Reporter1, welcome to the forum.

    Can you post some sample data?
     
  3. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    What is the conditional statement that you are using?

    Regards,
    Rollin
     
  4. The Villan

    The Villan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Use
    Cell value is Between 0 100000 (use your values)

    That is assuming you can specify the lower and upper value.

    That way the text will remain black.
     
  5. reporter1

    reporter1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Here's a sample from the column. I formatted numbers in the Total ACW column which are >=25.5 to appear in red font. I want the LVE to remain black but it changes to red when I format the column. The example doesn't show it but the LVE all turn to red font when I add the conditional format.


    IATT IAHLD Total ACW
    349 14 26
    250 66 19
    260 72 33
    314 92 20
    282 54 0
    334 47 27
    351 59 22
    258 88 20
    313 47 7
    272 56 25
    210 42 0
    204 21 24
    LVE LVE LVE
    288 35 16
    273 48 23
    338 69 0
    248 91 9
    281 57 27
    LVE LVE LVE
    343 54 8

    Thanks,
     
  6. computerman29642

    computerman29642

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    As Rollin Asked....

    So the ACW column is the one you are trying to format?
     
  7. computerman29642

    computerman29642

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Will "LVE" be the only text that will ever appear, or will other text be found in the column?
     
  8. reporter1

    reporter1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Yes, just the ACW column. The ACW numbers >=25.5 turn red with the conditional format but so do all the LVE in the same column.
     
  9. reporter1

    reporter1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    There are various text cells in the column so not all texts are the same.
     
  10. The Villan

    The Villan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Do you know the highest limit.

    If you do set the lowest 25.5 and highest limit and use the between command.

    As I said, it will not colour the text then
     
  11. reporter1

    reporter1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    To The Villan,

    You're right! Thanks so much for the tip - it will save me alot of time in a few of my reports. I still can't figure out why the conditional formatting affects the text, but as long as this works I'm happy. You're no 'Villan' to me!!
     
  12. computerman29642

    computerman29642

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Please feel free to mark the thread as solved using the Thread Tools at the top of the page.
     
  13. reporter1

    reporter1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks to both of you - gamecockfan and Villan for helping me on this. I appreciate your being so generous with your time.
    reporter1
     
  14. computerman29642

    computerman29642

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    No problem. I am just glad Villan was able to solve your problem. Please feel free to pick our brains anytime.
     
  15. The Villan

    The Villan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    you are welcome reporter1
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702695

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice